Bringing Palm OS devices back online — A journey into vintage computing

Jan Kammerath
9 min readNov 16, 2019

As I watched vintage computing videos, I remembered the days when I used my Palm handheld devices such as the Palm III, Palm V and others. It got me in quite some nostalgic moments and feelings. I ended up on eBay and classifieds websites where I searched around. It did not take long and I found a completely new and unopened Palm m515 from 2002. In a moment of excitement and with a low cost of 20 €, I gave it a shot. A couple of days later a package arrived at my door.

A brand-new unopened box with a Palm m515

The device, purchased by a kind person in 2002 and locked in the cupboard for at least 17 years, was entirely new and never ever used after it left the factory in its package. Back in the days it was the flagship of Palm Inc. in the hopes to compete with Pocket PCs and other organizer devices. It came with PalmOS 4.1, a color display, the pen, numerous manuals and of course a Lithium-Ion battery. The battery would prove to be the first challenge.

Unboxing a brand-new Palm m515 in 2019

I carefully unpacked the device, read the manual, connected the cradle and all the utilities to give the Palm its first charge. The manual stated it would take the device around 2 hours for a full charge. However knowing…

--

--

Jan Kammerath

I love technology, programming, computers, mobile devices and the world of tomorrow. Check out kammerath.com and follow me on github.com/jankammerath