Scratch Is The Future: You Should Learn It. Seriously!

Jan Kammerath
5 min readMay 27, 2023

The Scratch programming language currently ranks on place 13 on the TIOBE Index. That means it’s more popular than Rust or Ruby. I started coding (is it considered “writing” or “clicking”?) in Scratch for the same reason any adult starts to learn Scratch: my kids started with it.

Scratch ranks #13 on TIOBE: More popular and Rust and Ruby

The kids would obviously ask me for help on how to do things with Scratch. So I had to learn it. Once they had their Scratch applications done, they of course wanted to share them with the world. That’s when I learned how amazing Scratch is for rapid app and web development.

Building with Scratch is superfast

Scratch was invented by the MIT primarily for teaching and learning how to program. Lifelong Kindergarten group of the MIT Media Lab, led by Professor Resnick, invented Scratch. You can find Scratch and all the resources on https://scratch.mit.edu/.

Before I could help my kids with Scratch, I of course had to learn it myself. With my 25+ years experience in programming, I was still scared as you never know what to expect. Back in my days, we learned programming differently than kids do today. As an adult with programming experience, I learned Scratch without any resources. In total, it took me 15 minutes to learn Scratch.

--

--

Jan Kammerath

I love technology, programming, computers, mobile devices and the world of tomorrow. Check out kammerath.com and follow me on github.com/jankammerath