The LFX Mentorship: Journey from Rejection to Selection

Janvi thakkar
4 min readJun 26, 2022

--

So, it was 28th May 2022 when I got a mail stating that…

This acceptance mail just made my day. I went into the flashback when I applied for the LFX mentorship for the first time back in February 2022 and got rejected from all 3 projects I applied for. At that time, I had no experience in contributing to the project to which I applied. I rejected myself before applying because I was knowing the fact that my application will not be having edge over others due to my contributions. But my contributions to other open-source projects gave me a little hope and so I applied. The verdict came as predicted and I got rejected by all!!

The interesting part is that I withdrew my application for projects of Moja-Global at that time just because of the skills mentioned on the site. And for this cohort, the only organization for which I applied was Moja Global. So, Let me tell you how this transition happened:)

In March 2022, I joined Moja Global’s community slack channel. I introduced myself. The mentors here are the best seniors and mentors I could ever ask for. I talked with mentors and community people to find the right project which can match my skills and area of interest. They all helped me in the best way possible and I started contributing to the Flint-UI project. I started with small issues and tried to increase my level of contribution steadily.

The UI working group lead Sloka di liked my eye for detail and made me a member of the UI working group. I was so happy that I could make an impact through my contributions. I started helping other contributors by creating beginner-friendly issues for them to work on.

By that time I was also aiming to work on the Building UI Library project for Moja Global under GSoC’22. I tried my level best. I was communicating with my mentor Harsh and Shloka regularly. Both the mentors helped me a lot during that process by clearing my doubts and suggesting the right ways. They also helped me to improve my proposal. In the end, I got rejected for that project. But I got positive feedback for my work and proposal. Harsh made me understand my mistakes and what I could have done better. This feedback fueled me well to apply for the LFX Mentorship Program through which I could get a chance to work on the projects at Moja Global.

In the mid of May, Moja Global opened application forms for the next cohort. This time I was already knowing that I could learn some skills along the way and there is a pretty fair chance of my application to stand out. I applied through the portal. I needed to submit my Resume, Cover Letter, and Work Eligibility Certificate (No Objection Certificate). I submitted all those things and waited for the results to come and TADA….. The verdict came in my favor. I along with my co-contributor got selected for this cohort.

Details about The LFX Mentorship

The LFX Mentorship service offers a structured remote learning opportunity to aspiring open source software developers. Experienced open source project developers and maintainers will mentor aspiring individuals and help them become contributors to the open source community.

The schedule of the full-time mentorship is as follows:

  • Spring Term: March 1st — May 31st
  • Summer Term: June 1st — August 31st
  • Fall Term: September 1st — Nov 30th

What Next?

The mentorship program is going pretty well. I am learning something new every day. I would soon write a blog about the wholesome one-month journey and learning experience. I hope you enjoyed the article. My DMs are open for any kind of help. See You soon:)

--

--