Friday Update with Sonic turns 26, Nintendo beats Sony, Pokéland trademark, plus more news!

● Mario’s former arch-nemesis Sonic the Hedgehog turns 26 today. See you in August!

Nintendo Co., Ltd. shares closed trading for the week at 38,440 and yet another new highest record since early October 2008 and a higher market cap than Sony Corp!

● Nintendo’s latest trademark application is for Pokéland. The game should launch on iOS and Android any week now (it’s a new version of Pokémon Rumble).

Dragon Quest XI: Sugisarishi Toki o Motomete for Nintendo Switch was discussed at today’s Square Enix General Meeting of Shareholders. The PS4 and 3DS versions were focused on with details of the Switch version coming later. No indication on when to expect a release.

● Donkey Kong Jungle Beat, Pikmin, Pikmin 2 and Odoru Made in Wario Wii U software discount rewards have been added in My Nintendo.

● The Splatoon 2 and Tower Records ‘2017 SUMMER SALE’ collaboration campaign starts today. Go here for more details!

Pokémon Sun Moon players can enter the code ‘MATSUBUSA’ to obtain the five 5 Mega Stones in-game. Unsure if this works on non-Japanese copies.

● The Japanese dubbed version of Sonic Toon (Sonic Boom) begins on Netflix Japan from 1 July.

● There will be a Dai Gyakuten Saiban 2: Naruhodou Ryuunosuke no Kakugo (Great Ace Attorney 2) Real Escape Game from 9 September — 10 December 2017 at the Meiji-mura in Inuyama, Japan.

● ‘Attack of the cuteness! Delightful Dinosaurs’ stage (including a Dinosaur Costume!) plus new shop items have been added to Miitomo today.

● Gyms are now available again in Pokémon GO with trainers level 31 and above able to participate in Raid Battles.

Fire Emblem Heroes will see ‘The War of the Clerics Voting Gauntlet’ from Tuesday 27 June until Monday 3 July.

● The first day sell-through for The Alliance Alive is apparently at just 30%.

● The Splatoon 2 (Salmon Run Mode) and ARMS (Suge Udo Tournament) livestream from World Hobby Fair begins at 09:30 JST (01:30 BST, 02:30 CET, 20:30 ET, 17:30 PT). Add 24 hours for the day two livestream!

● The trailer for the fourth Yokai Watch movie which is due in December.

● My mini review of the Japanese only Nintendo Switch eShop game Touch Battle Tank SP. Plantera next!

● And finally, a list of the top 20 shoot-em-ups of all time as voted by readers of Weekly Famitsu here. Thanks for following and have a great weekend!