Using Tech Wisely

Jared Janes
2 min readOct 3, 2014

--

3 questions we should always ask ourselves

Now-a-days, it seems like there’s a new shiny gadget, app or service being launched every hour, and it looks like the pace is only picking up. Being a technology enthusiast myself, I’m often near the front of the line to try them out. But it’s becoming clear to me that searching for the value in these new tools takes time. Time that can negatively effect more important aspects of our lives, and sometimes it’s easy to forget that technology is actually here to make our lives easier. That’s why I’ve found it extremely important to regularly audit the tech in my life to make sure it’s actually adding value. Below are three questions I’ve found useful in my continuous audits. I hope you find them valuable too.

Does this negatively affect my health, relationships or contributions to my community?

____________

If so, can I adjust the way I use it to remove the negative impact?

____________

If not, am I getting something more valuable in return?

--

--

Jared Janes

Weaving eclectic interests together to promote human development.