CS373 Fall 2022: Jarrod Brown — Blog 2

Jarrod Brown
2 min readSep 5, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I had a pretty normal week. I paid attention in the lecture and I think I have a pretty good understanding of the material so far. I haven’t started on the Collatz project, but I’ll start on that soon. I think the first exercise went well; I’m assuming that they will get harder in the future. I haven’t coded python in a while, so I need to get brush up on it if the exercises get more difficult. The only bad thing was I got to class late and didn’t turn it in the quiz, so I need to make sure to get to class early.

What’s in your way?

I don’t anything significant is in my way currently. I just need to make sure to get to class early, and I probably need to prepare for the quizzes a little more.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will start on and complete the Collatz project. I will also start getting to class earlier, so I won’t miss a quiz again.

What did you think of Paper #1: Syllabus?

I thought Paper #1 went good. Since it was the syllabus, it was easy to annotate and think of questions I had.

What was your experience of assertions, unit tests, and coverage?

I thought these things were pretty easy to understand. I’ve used assertions before, so I really didn't have to learn anything new. I never used the python unit tests or coverage, so those were interesting to learn. They both will be useful to me while testing python code.

What made you happy this week?

I was able to figure out a difficult problem on one of my computer science class projects, so I was happy that I didn’t have to stress about it anymore.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is I was trying to use pandas on vscode jupyter notebook. I found that it was easier to install anaconda first and then change the python interpreter to point to the anaconda python install. This was easier than trying to install everything on my current python installation.

--

--