Burnout: The role of sleep

How prioritising sleep set the foundation for me to overcome burnout

Jas Deogan
4 min readApr 5, 2024
An individual sitting on a couch, his face buried in his hands, suggesting a state of distress or exhaustion.
Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

As much as I tried to keep it under wraps, my burnout was evident. My relentless pursuit of career progression and personal fulfilment had led me to a breaking point, neglecting my health and well-being in the process.

My friends and family could see it. They could sense that something was off. And as friends and family do, they lovingly urged me to S-L-O-W D-O-W-N — to head the signs that were so obvious that I was taking on too much and working too much. But I pressed on, dismissing their concerns.

My wake-up call to recovery

It wasn’t until I faced the undeniable truth of my situation — that I was utterly exhausted, both mentally and physically. I was BURNT OUT, and that acknowledgement was a hard fact to face.

I realised that if I wanted to restore balance, I needed to initiate change myself, and that meant reevaluating the basics, starting with sleep.

Understanding burnout and the role of sleep

Burnout crept up on me, masquerading as simple fatigue that I believed could be fixed with a good night’s sleep. Yet, as I pushed myself harder, ignoring the deeper issues, I found that rest was not the cure-all I expected.

Burnout is more than physical exhaustion; it’s a culmination of prolonged stress affecting our emotional and mental states. Acknowledging this was my first step towards recovery, with sleep as my starting point.

Healing begins with sleep

Initially, I thought sleep would quickly undo the years of neglect, but I soon realised that I was only applying a temporary fix without addressing the root causes of my burnout.

My journey to understand sleep’s role in recovery led me to research from the National Institutes of Health, highlighting sleep as a critical period of repair and rejuvenation for both the mind and body.

Sleep is when the body engages in repair and rejuvenation, supporting healthy brain function and maintaining physical health. Sleep cycles consist of different stages, which are vital for both physical and mental recovery.

Deep sleep facilitates physical repair, while Rapid eye movement sleep, most commonly referred to as REM sleep, is known for hosting the majority of our dreams. It’s essential for emotional and mental health and plays a key role in learning and memory. After tracking my sleep for a period of time, it became apparent that I was not getting enough deep and REM sleep.

A stack of smooth, round stones balanced carefully upon one another, creating a cairn, commonly found on beachside settings
Photo by Colton Sturgeon on Unsplash

Transforming night-time rituals for better quality sleep

Embracing a sleep transformation involved more than just spending more hours in bed; it meant establishing a routine conducive to quality rest. This included setting a consistent bedtime, reducing screen time, which is much easier said than done, and creating a restful environment.

Monitoring my sleep patterns revealed a lack of deep and REM sleep, prompting further adjustments to enhance the quality of my rest. I started practising meditation before I went to bed and invested in an eye mask to block out light and ensure my bedroom was a sanctuary for rest.

How better quality sleep fuels my recovery

Change didn’t happen overnight, and the benefits of prioritising sleep didn’t materialise immediately — but persistence paid off. And gradually, I started to experience a boost in energy, mood, and overall outlook.

Quality sleep became a cornerstone of my recovery from burnout, laying the groundwork for tackling broader issues. It taught me that healing begins with giving my body the rest it needs to repair itself, setting the stage for addressing other aspects of burnout, such as my work-life balance, emotional well-being, nutrition, and physical well-being.

A solitary young fern plant stands with vibrant green leaves against a stark, contrasting background of dark, charred earth.
Photo by Matt Palmer on Unsplash

My recovery journey highlighted the role of sleep in overcoming burnout. It reminds me, and I hope you, that we must not overlook the power of rest in our relentless world.

To those feeling overwhelmed, I urge you to start with the basics: prioritise not just the quantity but the quality of your sleep.

As we continue to share our experiences and strategies for overcoming burnout, let’s highlight the role of sleep in our overall well-being. Your journey to recovery might be challenging, but it can begin tonight with a good night’s sleep.

Let’s open the conversation about sleep and burnout, sharing tips, experiences, and insights that can help others on their path to recovery.

I hope you enjoyed this article, and if it helped you out, don’t forget to leave a clap or two or drop a comment. You can connect with me on LinkedIn, Medium and BlueSky.

--

--

Jas Deogan

Visionary UX/Product Leader with 12+ years' experience, driving innovative strategies and user-centric design to enhance business outcomes.