5 Life Lessons I wish I had known sooner

Jasmin Secic
3 min readSep 5, 2023

In this article, I’ll share five essential life lessons that, in hindsight, I wish I had learned earlier in my life.

5 Life Lessons I wish I had known sooner
5 Life Lessons I wish I had known sooner

At one point in life, everyone wonders what would have happened if they had known some things earlier.

As we journey through life, we inevitably encounter experiences that shape us and teach us valuable lessons. Often, we look back and wish we could have known certain things earlier, believing that they might have made our path smoother or our decisions wiser.

So what are those lessons?

Self-Care is Not Selfish

It took me years to understand that prioritizing self-care is not a selfish act but a necessity for overall well-being. In a world that often glorifies busyness and self-sacrifice, I wish I had known sooner that taking time for myself, setting boundaries, and nurturing my mental and physical health are essential. Self-care is the foundation upon which we build a fulfilling life and the ability to care for others effectively.

Embrace Change and Uncertainty

Change is inevitable, and uncertainty is a constant companion in life. I wish I had learned earlier that resisting change or fearing the unknown only leads to unnecessary stress and anxiety. Embracing change and uncertainty as opportunities for growth and adaptation can lead to greater resilience and a more enriching life journey.

Failure is a Stepping Stone to Success

Early in life, I was often afraid to fail, viewing it as a reflection of my inadequacy. I wish I had known that failure is not a dead-end but a stepping stone toward success. Every setback, every mistake, and every disappointment is a valuable lesson in disguise. Embracing failure with a growth mindset allows us to learn, evolve, and ultimately achieve our goals.

Self-Care is Not Selfish
Self-Care is Not Selfish

The Importance of Gratitude

It’s easy to take things for granted until we realize their true value. I wish I had understood the power of gratitude earlier in life. Practicing gratitude daily can transform our perspective, increase our happiness, and deepen our relationships. Gratitude reminds us to appreciate the present moment and the beauty in our lives, no matter how small.

Relationships Matter Most

While career aspirations and personal achievements are important, I wish I had known earlier that the quality of our relationships is the true measure of a rich and fulfilling life. Investing time and effort in building and nurturing meaningful connections with family, friends, and loved ones is paramount. These relationships provide support, love, and a sense of belonging that can sustain us through life’s ups and downs.

And at the end, remember

Life is a journey of continuous learning, and we all accumulate wisdom as we go along. While it’s natural to reflect on what we wish we had known earlier, it’s essential to remember that our experiences, both positive and negative, shape us into the individuals we become.

These five life lessons — self-care, embracing change, learning from failure, practicing gratitude, and valuing relationships — are timeless reminders of the richness and depth that life offers. Even though we may wish we had learned them earlier, the beauty of life lies in our ability to incorporate these lessons into our journey at any stage, allowing us to live a more mindful, fulfilling, and purposeful existence.

Thanks for reading!

Oh yes, just a moment. To receive my posts and not miss something that could be useful to you, you can subscribe here.

--

--

Jasmin Secic

Writer and blogger | I write mainly about the phenomena of today's time, and respect for others and those different from us. I am an author of children's books.