Artist Review: Adobe Photoshop Sketch Timelapse Feature

Jasmine Lové
2 min readAug 18, 2018

--

I finally tested out the Timelapse feature in the Adobe Photoshop Sketch app while creating an abstract painting with my new Texture Brush Pack. Here’s a quick review from a Digital Artist. ⬇️ ^_^

After exporting my video from Adobe PhotoshopSketch, I noticed that the video does not record or export as a high-resolution video like Procreate does. There isn’t even an option to choose a type of resolution (like Procreate). I guess this is turning more into a comparison review, but that’s ok. Even when the video is scaled down (as seen in this video), it looks blotchy and pixelated.

I also noticed some gaps and jumps throughout the timelapse video. It doesn’t show each brush stroke being drawn, it just sort of plops it there. It seems like Procreate shows each brush stroke in motion (or maybe it’s just moving too fast for me to really tell?).

When you take a look at some of my previous timelapse videos, using Procreate, you’ll to see the difference in quality. You’ll notice that Procreate’s timelaspe video is just a lot smoother.

“Paisley” Lettering in Procreate:
https://youtu.be/xqh2VVGDlDE
“Hello” Lettering in Procreate:
https://youtu.be/avD77vaOpkA

I hope Adobe improves this quality issue, because the Timelapse option is a cool feature (when it works properly).

Overall, I did enjoy painting in the app and I like the way my brushes performed. I had a good, relaxing time, laying on my yoga mat and painting away! :)

Have you played with the Adobe Photoshop Sketch app and used the timelapse feature? Did you like it? Or do you prefer Procreate? Let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this quick review, please hit the applause button, it would mean a lot to me. Thank you.

P.S. If you’re interested in these gorgeous texture brushes, you can get them from Creative Market or Gumroad. Also, make sure you subscribe to my YouTube channel so you don’t miss my weekly uploads.

--

--