Special Structures

Jasmin P
17 min readSep 30, 2021

--

Toy gathering!

September 23, 2021

Toys! Our class today had a special twist, we used our previous knowledge about toys to inform our assumptions about the toys on the floor. One by one, the toys either disappointed us, met our expectations, or fascinated us. For a few, such as one that moved like a worm, and one that started a spark, we couldn’t contain our ooos and ahhs!

Some key things I learned from the toys that I wanted to incorporate into the next project include:

  • Don’t ask the materials to do more than you want them to
  • Make something for other people and me to enjoy
  • Simplicity just works, it doesn’t have to be complex for it to work well
  • You have to interact with it for it to work

We were given our assignment, and I was to design a structure that transports small and important design objects.

September 27, 2021

Work time! Time to begin the project, and experiment with cardboard. I struggled a lot with the idea of latches, and ways of connecting the cardboard. I didn’t sketch anything out because I visualize these better by building. I started by creating a box and rectangular prism, getting used to the material, scoring, and different latch systems. I specifically used flaps or puzzle piece shapes.

Box Experiment
Triangular Prism Experiment

Neither of my structures could hold themselves together very long, and they weren’t very effective, so I moved on. Thinking of the case that holds my glasses, I attempted to do a cylinder with a different type of latch, where one part fits into an opening. I scored it again, and the form was much more effective.

After trying that latching system, I wanted to try something new, specifically a slit system, or egg-crate construction. In my mind, I felt it could be the most effective form of connecting the cardboard, without too many additive processes. I began with a simple cardboard rectangle, then I scored it in a random place, then saw that it looked like a handle, and my building process continued. Rather than having a clear idea of what I was building, I added it piece by piece and the structure started forming on its own. The result is as follows:

I was pretty content with the result, and there is a small protected part in the center. Part of the egg grate system was to protect what is on the inside, so my idea was to carry small delicate objects, like charcoal, that are hard to transport as they are prone to snapping. I also included a handle to emphasize the transport, and with that, my experiments for the day were complete.

September 28, 2021

The critique today highlighted all the issues with my experiment, which was extremely helpful. Several issues were pointed out that I hadn’t considered or prioritized.

  • The corrugation runs differently on one of the two parallel pieces, which means that certain directions will bend more easily
  • The handle part pulls up, but due to the slit system when you pull up that handle part is removed
  • The handle portion should run transverse to the direction of the pulling of the handle
  • Widen the edges of the slits so that their insertion is clearer and smoother

I am glad I got a good start, and I received a good amount of feedback. Although my experiment was very flawed, that’s the point of an experiment! Besides what was mentioned about my work, Stacy wrote down important stuff on the board that I don’t want to forget as I continue this process. Issues that may have not come up in this experiment, but I will have to address them as I refine my idea.

  • Fewer pieces create something stronger
  • Pay attention to the direction of corrugation
  • Watch for “pinch points” in cardboard, they can indicate areas to fix
  • Explore various ways of connecting pieces, look at everyday objects
  • Pay attention to additive/ deductive approaches
  • Start using props!
  • Work towards enjoyable forms and interactions
  • Weaving is another way to put cardboard together
  • You can strip layers of cardboard to fold certain parts
  • These can interact with their carrier (such as a rotation system)
  • Do iterations based on a theme
  • Make these interactions rewarding

September 29, 2021

Now with a lot more direction, my biggest goal was to refine my concept, most importantly figure out the handle portion and how to make it run traverse from the direction of the pulling. I thought this would be relatively easy. I was mistaken. I made a few iterations, using one part to wrap around the cardboard on the bottom, and figuring out how to complete the structure. Connecting pieces to the long handle part were not easy, but I learned a lot through my attempts.

Experiments/ Systems for connecting and building the structure

As you can see on the left, I tried two systems. One was the slit system, which wasn’t sturdy as the pieces were super loose, and when the structure tilted the pieces fell out. The problem wasn’t the size of the slits, because it could still be very easily be pushed out when bumping against a surface. The second system, the photo in the middle, is a slot system, where the structure is pulled through. Again, very loose, and not a reliable system. The last photo shows the ineffectiveness of the methods.

September 30, 2021

Today, we had small group meetings with our group, so I was grouped with most of Transportation. We received really helpful advice on addressing transportation in our design, and the things that stuck out to me were

  • The form should describe the use, where the hand goes (curve in the handle)
  • How does the structure describe the nature of the container without being decorative?
  • Protect the object
  • Deductive design, use fewer pieces
  • Can people develop an attachment to this design?

That last one really got me thinking. I didn’t even really have a clear function or purpose to my design, I was kind of just building a structure and seeing where it went, rather than form follows function. I was thinking that it could be a structure that protects charcoal, but it was just so complicated and way too many pieces. I realized that I would have to scrap this idea and go in a different direction. Specifically, something that I would use! That way I can create that want, that attachment, create something I would be attached to.

So, I started from scratch. What do I want to protect? What product would make my life easier? How can I make a product that I enjoy using?

October 2, 2021

My gears were turning, and my new idea was blossoming. My original idea was to protect charcoal so I can carry it around wherever I go. I love charcoal, so I liked my original idea, but I felt like the product wasn’t necessary, and if need be I could just stuff it securely in my backpack. However, I began thinking of delicate art materials that I use often. Charcoal and ink both came to mind. Plus, they make a great mix for sketches. I envisioned myself taking this product to the park, or wherever I go so I could sketch on the go, and realized I would need a brush for the ink. That is when the materials my product would be transporting solidified in my mind. Charcoal, ink, and a brush. I immediately started sketching what I envisioned on paper.

New Idea Sketches and Calculations (This all makes sense to me)

October 5, 2021

My new idea is a box shape, with a diagonal piece that crosses in the middle that holds the objects, that way it could be made with one piece of cardboard. This concept is quite hard to explain, so I got started working on the model and building what was in my mind.

Experiments of the charcoal holder, brush dent, and ink hole.

I started by thinking about how my three objects could fit into this form, doing experiments with the actual objects to make sure they can fit, and check the efficacy of the forms. After these, I moved on the figuring out what measurement I would have to make my cardboard for the diagonal element to fit into the square element.

As you can also see by the sketches and calculations on the sketch shown previously, it took me a while to figure out these measurements. I thought I figured it out so I made it in cardboard, but I realized it was too small, all my measurements were off, and the ink wouldn't fit. I asked my peers for help with the math, as I had been looking at the Pythagorean theorem for too long, and finally got the right measurements.

I was on a roll! Finally, an experiment that worked. I also built a little case for the charcoal, so it is still protected, and my idea was to have a little slit to put the box in securely. I had a much clearer direction at this point.

October 6, 2021

I came into the studio eager to build this thing.

I drew a plan with exact measurements to prevent mess-ups, copied it to cardboard, then cut it out. I ended up chopping off the flaps because I felt like it took away from the structure, and this draft model was more or less complete!

I was pretty happy with it! I finally put my mental idea into physical form, and although it had its flaws, I was just happy I finally felt like I was making progress!

October 7, 2021

The feedback on my project so far

During this class, we were put in groups and we gave feedback on individual projects. Personally, it was easy to see the flaws in other people’s projects but more difficult to see them in my own. This activity was super helpful! I got a lot of good feedback, and I knew that my project had to improve significantly. However, I was also feeling pretty stuck. The feedback was true, but I wasn’t sure how to make the holders for the charcoal and brushwork, be one piece, and also fit into the main structure. Then I talked to Stacy and she cut the following paper:

Stacy. If you are reading this, thank you. Sometimes when you are working you can get so stuck into a mode of thinking, but this really got me out of my rut super quickly. Stacy just cut two slits into a piece of paper and it blew my mind. I realized that I just had to think outside of the box, literally, to create the holders for the brush and the charcoal. I used this, and the feedback from friends, to continue this process.

Using the feedback given to me on the paper, and through my peers just passing by and attempting to open and close my structure, I realized that I had to change a few issues. The most important being that the opening is kind of hidden, and people don’t know exactly where to open it. So I created a small thumb indent which I thought solved the issue.

Attempt 1 on left, Attempt 2 on right

I made the indent in the left photo. Then Midori came by and opened it the wrong way because the direction of the thumb indent is the opposite of the way the flap is supposed to be opened. I realized that I have to put the thumb indent the other way around.

I also experimented with the paper slit idea Stacy gave me, which was very exciting!

Slit Experiments

With that, I was done for the day.

October 12, 2021

Now my job was to develop the handle, which I thought should be relatively easy, but the more and more I got into it, the more challenging I realized it would be. I began with my original idea, which was building a basic shell that supports the structure from the bottom, and adds a bit more protection to the whole thing. I made the measurements to be slightly larger than the structure itself so that it would fit snugly. The following is the result:

Handle Attempt #1

As you can see, it is very bulky and it feels unnecessary. I didn’t think it would be so chunky, but it obviously was so this idea was quickly scrapped. I had to figure out a way to attach the straps to the structure without it being so bulky. My next idea was to attach two separate straps to two sides of the structure, using tabs to make sure they stay in place.

Handle Attempt #2

The reason why it seems tilted is that the handles allow for the wight to be heavier at the bottom during carrying so that the bottles are upright when being carried, and tilted for easy grabbing when displayed and put down. This attempt was a lot better than the previous version, but it still felt a bit bulky, and there was too much cardboard that felt like it wasn’t being used. Figuring out the handle was definitely going to be a process.

October 16, 2021

Reading and working through my previous explorations of handles, I had one more idea that could possibly work. My idea was to make the handle come from the center of the structure, which would create less bulk. Basically, it would pull from the bottom, go through a hole in the middle and at the top, and then have the handle to be held. I couldn’t quite visualize how it would be navigated when the structure is being opened, so I decided to build a quick new model because the one I had been using already had too many holes and had been experimented on too much. I needed a new canvas. The result of my experiment is as follows:

Handle Attempt #3

I am glad I attempted this version. It comes through the middle, but it is even bulkier than the previous version, because it sticks out awkwardly when it is opened, and it also doesn’t feel as intuitive as the previous version. I think I am sticking with my second attempt at the handle. I will take a break, then focus on the other details of the structure.

I took a break, and I have been working on the handle, the brush holder, and the final decisions of the overall structure. I was just randomly cutting and trying out things and the following occurred:

Isn’t that crazy?! It works great! It loosens the grip of the brush when it is laid flat, but once it is folded to close at the top it is super sturdy and it holds the brush great. It also makes use of the empty cardboard space which makes the whole thing feel more intentional.

After this is where it started going downhill. I attempted to use the same system to create a place to hold the charcoal.

These weren’t very successful and there was just so much left to experiment and resolve. How will the charcoal not slide out? What size do the slits have to be for a regular charcoal stick to fit snugly? How do you slide charcoal out? Where do you put the little charcoal pieces that break in half? I started realizing the harsh truth that I wouldn't be able to pursue the charcoal idea. I would have to focus all of my attention and time on that one element, and I started realizing that addressing charcoal alone could be a full structure because it is so delicate and complex. I realized that this idea was stretching me out too thin, that I could create a structure for ink and a brush, but not for charcoal. This made me pretty disappointed.

Another thing I had to address was the exposed cardboard. Although in my structure I feel it works and it makes it more structurally sound, in almost every other person’s project Steve and Stacy said to put as little exposed cardboard as possible. I understand the sentiment, it does look smooth and clean when it isn’t exposed, I just felt like mine was more functional, as in the tabs fit in together better if the cardboard is exposed.

I attempted a version without the cardboard exposed to see what it would look like.

It looks alright, it just doesn’t function as well. It doesn't stay in a square position very easily, and it opens very abruptly. The dents don’t feel permanent. This made me torn because I knew that it would be one of the things that were pointed out if I left all the edges exposed. I got a bit more disappointed.

Finally, I tried to carve out an ergonomic handle to solve that and make it feel more complete.

This handle was super delicate, very easily broken, and compared to the very rectilinear structure it felt very odd. Would definitely have to work on that a bit more, widen the spacing so that it could be more stable. It was just meh.

Today hasn’t felt very productive at all, and I am feeling pretty discouraged by the whole thing. I was hoping I would have advanced farther by now, but instead, I took out a feature I was excited about and didn’t advance much with the other parts of it. It is late, I am going to sleep. I hope I will wake up with fresh eyes and more optimism because this is one of the lowest points I have been at in this project, if not the lowest.

October 18, 2021

I had a mission today, to finish the model and complete the project and be content, no matter if it wasn’t perfect. I am a perfectionist, and Saturday night the progress of my project was really affecting me emotionally, so I decided to just try my best and let whatever happens to happen. The second I got into the studio I started working. First, I began by deciding what handle I wanted to make by cutting out a few versions. The one I made previously was too organic, and although it was relatively comfortable to hold, it wasn’t thought through too much and it didn’t go with my design at all. I decided to create a simple, more geometric handle. I ended up scaling it too large so I noted to make a smaller one.

I continued working, by creating a rough simple plan to prevent mistakes, but my goal was to get started working on my final model as soon as possible.

Although it’s really light, I basically wrote all the measurements making sure that no mistakes would be mindlessly made in the process.

Drawing, cutting, and more cutting. 3.5 hours later my final model was complete!

There wasn’t much special happening in the process, I was just being careful, measuring the circles, rechecking my measurements over and over again just to be safe. I did make a few changes from the previous model, notably, I made the width smaller, to accommodate the ink and the brush, not the charcoal that I omitted. I also included my new handle design, which feels pretty comfortable in my hand. I played around with my props, and everything seemed to be running smoothly, and I was pretty excited! Seeing it all come together felt really good. I have been realizing that in the past project and in this one, my designs are simple but (hopefully) effective. They aren’t as complex as some of my peer’s projects, but they are unique and simple. At least that’s how I like to see it. Here are the photos!

I learned a lot from this project, some things about mechanical things and problem-solving, but mostly about the design process. I was very lost in the beginning, and although I was building stuff that looked cool, it didn’t have a purpose. Once I finally found my purpose, a product that I would actually want to use in my daily life, I started getting inspired and driven. I also had to make sacrifices from my original idea, but it all ended up working out in the end. I am quite content with my project. Many lessons were learned, and I am grateful to be learning and growing so much as a problem solver. Thank you! :)

--

--