| Ireland | What do they ask during an MOC (Marriage of Convenience) interview?

Phoqueus
3 min readJan 23, 2024

--

As a Taiwanese citizen, marrying an Irish person, we need to go through something called a “Marriage of Convenience interview (MOC)”.

In order to fight sham marriages, Ireland, and many other countries (including my own one) introduced this interviewing process to cross check if the relationship is “legit”.

Although the name itself sounds outdated, unlike Taiwan, where such interviews are exclusively conducted for people from specific countries (all developing countries), Ireland is, in this sense, less overtly discriminatory. All non-EU citizens are required to undergo this process before marrying an Irish person.

So what do they ask, typically?

I have heard various kinds of answers, with some, kinda offensive ones, I would like to share what I have been asked today (Yes! Today! 2024!).

No need to worry! They are pretty straightforward.

First, it started with my English fluency.

  1. Are you fluent in English?

(Brought up in an environment where we were told to “humble” ourselves, I found it a bit awkward to answer “yes” to a native English speaker, so I started with my job…)

“So you are fluent in English.”

“Yes.”

(Yup, she interrupted and got a yes from me when I started talking about my job and how English is required on a day-to-day basis.)

2. Is he fluent in English?

(For the formality I suppose…)

3. How did yous meet? When was that?

(We met on a dating app. Shout-out to Hinge!)

4. When did you have the first date? What did you do? Did you plan for the second date on that day? Where did you go on the second date?

(Thank myself I still remember all the details lol, so I gave her the name of the restaurant: Thanks, Drunken Fish, you’ve been great.)

5. Do you live together? (I said no.) Where do you live? Where does he live?

6. Do you pay rent? How much is it? What about him? Does he pay rent?

7. (I mentioned I would be moving in with him.) When would that be?

8. Do you have a joint account?

9. Have you met his family? Who did you meet? (This includes their aunts, uncles, grannies, etc.) Have you spoken to them?

10. Have either of you been married to intended to marry in the past?

11. What are your plans after marriage? Do you intend to remain in Ireland?

(I’m not sure if this matters much, but I did let the interviewer know we are thinking to raise kids in Taiwan, after sharing that I love in Ireland, which is true!)

12. How did you decide to get married? Did he propose? Do you have a ring?

(We just let her know we had been discussing it and both agreed to it, so I only told him I wanted a McDonald’s breakfast and a cup of Taiwanese milk tea lol.)

13. Where are you gonna get married? Are your family excited about it?

14. What does he do? Describe it. What do you do?

15. When did you come to Ireland? What is your stamp? When will it expire?

(I have a stamp 1 and just got it renewed recently.)

By the way, the interviewer takes notes of your responses and asks you to sign on the paper. However, you don’t have much time to review them before signing.

And then it’s done! Quick and simple. The interviewer did not smile much throughout the process, but I assume they are trained to do so, so I’m not really bothered by that.

The only thing that bothers me a bit is that the interviewer did not call my name at all when addressing me (but she did call my partner’s name a few times), but I will give her the benefit of the doubt — maybe she doesn’t know how to pronounce my name.

-

Anywayyyyy.

We didn’t show any photos or references written by our fam, and they didn’t ask us, “did you pay him/her to get married” or “what is the colour of his front door”, as I expected. (Lol. Some told me they were asked this.)

It was just straightforward and easy!

Hope this helps those who are getting married in Ireland soon!

--

--

Phoqueus

Taiwanese young professional in Ireland ☘️ 在愛爾蘭工作的台灣人 YouTube and Instagram: @Phoqueus