Award Winning 1973 Datsun 240 Z For Sale

Jason Fowler
6 min readSep 8, 2014

Just Sold. Thanks for looking!

Details

  • Red Orange Exterior
  • Black Interior
  • 2.4L 6 Cylinder 4 Speed Manual Transmission
  • 125K Original Miles
  • All Equipment In Exceptional Working Condition Including Many Extra Parts
  • A Few Tasteful Aesthetic & Functional Upgrades (Explained in Detail Below)
  • $14,999 (Recent Appraisal For $20,000 Can Be Provided)
  • Contact Jason at *removed since selling*. I can help arrange for delivery if desired. Feel free to contact me with any questions. Please click on the photobucket link below for over 90 photos of the car. If you would like more detail about a particular section of the car, just ask, I can gladly provide more photos. I know how daunting it is buying a car based on photos and I have absolutely nothing to hide.
  • Located in Saint Louis, MO
Interior including shot of the Grant brand wooden steering wheel. (Original will be included, but you won’t want to use it!)

Meticulously cared for and it shows. The car has been garaged and babied it’s entire life. Never smoked in. Adult Owned & Driven. Professionally maintained by a Datsun knowledgeable mechanic including recent new tires, rear brake cylinders, new fuel lines, plugs, carb tuning and more. Mostly original with tasteful upgrades including:

4 New Toyo Proxes tires on modern but classically styled Konig wheels. AM/FM Radio. Triple Weber Carburetors. A few chrome engine accessories, including valve covers, to tastefully dress up the engine bay. Custom steering wheel (original included).

Konig Wheels With New Toyo Proxe Tires (Less then 300 miles)

Extras will be provided including a new radiator (I had it just in case, hey, I like to be prepared!). An original and rare 1973 Factory Service Manual, Haynes 240 Z Repair Manual, and too many parts to list here. In addition, I have two sets of keys including one set of the originals.

The Story

About 10 years ago I was the proud owner of a new, at the time, Nissan 350 Z. I was so enamored with the car that I became fascinated with it’s history. The more I read about the 240 Z, the first generation of the car and it’s pure sports car roots, I knew I had to have one. While being obsessive compulsive is sometimes a drag, it pays off when hunting for exceptional cars. I began a nationwide search for the perfect example. After an exhaustive search I located the car featured here in Dallas Texas. I spoke at length with the owner and after being convinced it had potential, I drove almost 700 miles to inspect the car. After seeing many that were plagued with rust, over modified, unkempt, poorly maintained or just not perfect enough, this was a eureka moment. I drove the car back to Saint Louis without incident and immediately went to work cleaning and polishing every part on the car that I could. I replaced any OEM part I could that didn't meet my obsessiveness. I took first place for it’s category in it’s first car show and second in a huge Midwest Regional Show. It was validation to me that my search was worthwhile. Besides it being beautiful, it is an absolute thrill to drive. Taking it out is a joy when admirers often comment on it and the smiling faces it brings. I have gotten grinning thumbs ups from every age from the “greatest generation” to high school aged kids that know it’s history and even appreciate it’s appearance in their latest video games. My son is 6 and he proudly shows the car to anyone and everyone that comes to our house. “Wanna see our Zeeeee?!?!”

Given my exhaustive search, I know the concerns of the enthusiast looking for a car like this. For this reason, and for ultimate transparency, I will share with you a couple of questions that I felt worked well when meeting a car and it’s owner for the first time, and give you my answers. These two questions either gave me great insight into the car I was looking at or made the seller extremely uncomfortable.

ONE. “What is your favorite thing(s) about this particular car that you have for sale?” My answer: I am most proud of it’s aesthetic condition and it’s fun to drive factor. The paint, the interior, the body condition and the engine compartment completely defies the fact that it is a 41 year old car. All of these things make the car truly stand out to the eye because of their exceptional condition. The fact that it drives so well, and glues to corners, well, that makes it even better.

TWO. “If money were no object, give me two or three things you would do to the car to make it even better.” My answer: First, I always wondered if the triple Weber Carbs would be better replaced by the original SU OEM carbs. The Weber’s are super powerful, they sound awesome and they look phenomenal under the hood, but I feel like the everyday practicality is sacrificed ever so slightly with them. They really drink gas. and the throttle, that is setup for the light tension of the original twin carbs, is a little stiffer with the three monster Weber’s, especially at tip in. It might just be too much gas for the car realistically. Second, there is two VERY small spots on the back wheel well exterior that, while small enough not to show well in photos, looks like they might be a tiny bit of rust. Given the history of rust issues with these cars, I am pleased that is the only place it has shown itself, but I would love to knock that out. Definitely not something required or very noticeable but I am obsessive, and I notice it. (I made an attempt to take photos of these spots, and even highlight them in large photos. Click the link at the bottom to see all of the photos of the car.) Please feel free to contact me with any questions. I love the car and would like it to become another persons pride and joy like it was for us.

Click The Photobucket Link Below To View All Photos Of The Car

http://s76.photobucket.com/user/midwesterner76/library/Datsun

--

--