Samsung Board of Directors, Alibaba Division CEOs, Semiconductor Executives, Berkeley Research Scientists Create the Skynet Open Network

Jason Hawking
2 min readJul 16, 2018

Recently, I discovered a new project called Skynet Open Network, a end-to-end ecosystem consisting of various horizontal scaling IoT platforms and a blockchain chip. After looking through their website, my first impression of them was the Telegram for Internet of Things, IOTA with Artificial Intelligence, or High Performance Blockchain on steroids.

As I read on, I learnt that were making neural network central processing units and connecting them all with a decentralised autonomous machine learning network. I couldn’t help but think that they were actually making Skynet in real life.

And I was correct. They basically were re-creating my childhood fantasies of the Terminator, but as benevolent version?

As much as I wanted them to create Terminators from my childhood movies, they’re planning to make their Skynet system beneficial to humanity by giving devices the intelligence to diagnose types of diseases and enable communication between self-driving cars so they don’t crash. They are also helping provide the infrastructure for blockchain technology by embedding a Ledger Nano S into the CPU of every IoT device.

After reading more about their huge system, I began to think

Million transaction per second blockchain, the first ever blockchain chips, can they actually make this happen? Probably just another ICO with big claims.

And then I looked at the team. Holy Moly.

Their team is comprised of the Executive Director from Samsung, Alibaba Executives, Berkeley AI Researchers, and Qualcomm Executives.

Even their regular members are from Amazon, Qualcomm, Paypal, Google. Talk about a stacked team, especially for an ICO.

If one team can make Skynet happen, it’s this one.

--

--