Meet Jake, Upcoming Artist From Australia

Jason Maros
2 min readJul 1, 2023

--

I’m Jake Plumb, a 24-year-old blind recording artist from Melbourne, Australia. Losing most of my central vision to a hereditary visual condition called LHON during my 12th year of schooling was the catalyst for me to begin making music. I’ve been making music for five years now, starting with predominantly rap and hip hop music in high school with friends. Over the years, my sound has developed into a variety of genres, including pop rap, surf rock, and R&B. I’ve performed shows in my hometown of Melbourne and even played a show in Japan in January 2023. With my music, I aim to create a feeling more than a message. I know it can be difficult for people to put emotions or thoughts into words, and I struggle with this too. That’s why I love creating sounds that you can feel in your chest, perfectly explaining what’s going on in your mind. I want to be the next big disabled artist to show that you can still achieve even the biggest of dreams despite any adversity.

“Be who you want to be, not who they want you to be.” Says Jake.

--

--