A $120–150m IPO for IROKO in 2021

Jason 'Igwe' Njoku
2 min readNov 13, 2019

--

Speaking about Monetisation at the Bloomberg Africa Business Media Innovators 2019 in Dakar, Senegal
If you didn’t know. IROKOtv has definitely made her dent in the universe. We are seen amongst the biggest boys and gals in media.

In simple terms, I have dedicated my life to solving problems and building value on my own terms. Always on my own terms. It doesn’t make people fall in love with me, and in fact most people recoil at my blunt force (I would say merely direct) approach to everything. I try to bring extreme energy and honesty to everything I do. I’m not here for the love. I am here to win and make sure I can pay school fees. On 30th August 2011, the day the first $3m landed in our IROKO account from Tiger Global, I signed myself up for something else. As a newly minted venture backed business, I now had to create shareholder value. That ‘win’ needed an IRR attached to it. I had a number to hit. Anyone who follows me on Twitter (Ironman 70.3 training) knows what I do with numbers. I obsess and try to crush them. That IRR number responsibility I take very very seriously. Even when shareholders discourage me, I still push forward to do what is their best interest. At least when I believe it is the case. Example. ROK.

Most of my board at the time were against building out ROK.

Loving this article? Read the rest Exclusively at Jason.com.ng . Join me and get my Awesome actionable insights on Media, Technology & Gambling in Africa. With new posts every week + an exclusive members only group. Go to www.jason.com.ng and sign up now!

--

--