E2E testing in the real world

Jason Philip
8 min readJun 17, 2018

I’m currently spending three days at a big event hosted by the company I work for, which aims at improving its employee’s skills and knowledge through a series of short talks, small projects and group activities. It’s a consulting firm for software development, so it’s made up mostly of engineers, designers and project managers.

We group ourselves into teams working on different areas like web development, machine learning, mobile development, site reliability, innovation and others. We try to find a relevant and interesting topic in the area we chose, ideally something that might deliver value to current or future projects. A recurrent topic for most areas in software development is testing, all kinds of testing. How do we ensure that new functionality is working and keeps working in the future?

A typical presentation about E2E testing.

In this article we will discuss the top of the test pyramid from my own perspective, gathered after some experience implementing a test suite from scratch in a big web development project.

About me

This is my first post on Medium, so let me first tell you who I am and what I do. I’m a London based Software Engineer and Consultant. I have experience in developing web applications in a variety of frameworks like AngularJS, Angular and React, Java based microservices using Dropwizard and Spring Boot and delivering…

--

--