The Full-Blown Guide to Facebook’s Privacy Settings

Facebook is an American for-profit corporation and an online social media and social networking service based in California. This social networking website is a place where users can post comments, share photos and links to interesting content on the Web, chat live with friends and colleagues, play games and stream live videos. Shared content on Facebook can be made publicly accessible, or it can be shared only among a select group of people. Facebook makes updates every so often in order to offer greater privacy options for their users.

Source: Giphy

This blog will be explaining the privacy settings on Facebook with a particular focus on what a beginner would need to know in order to effectively manage their content on the global Facebook community.

Firstly, before getting into the advanced privacy settings, it would be a good idea to run a quick privacy checkup. A privacy checkup allows you to view and edit your current post, application, and profile settings. To access this privacy checkup, log onto Facebook on your desktop and click the ? icon on the Facebook toolbar located on the top of the web page. Afterwards, select the Privacy Checkup option. Selecting this option will bring you to a page that lists three levels of privacy control.

(1) Posts

This level of privacy control lets you choose the audience that you wish to share your future posts with. You can make your future posts visible to the global community of Facebook, exclusively your Facebook contacts, exclusively a specific portion of your Facebook contacts, or only you.

(2) Applications

This level of privacy control lets you choose which people can view the third-party applications that are linked to your personal Facebook account. You can make the third-party applications linked to your account visible to the global community of Facebook, exclusively your Facebook contacts, exclusively a specific portion of your Facebook contacts, or only you. For example, if your personal Facebook account is linked to the third-party application Soundcloud, then you can choose the people on Facebook that would have permission to view that your account is linked to Soundcloud.

(3) Profile

This level of privacy control lets you choose which people can view the personal information you have provided to Facebook upon creating your Facebook account. This personal information includes your personal email, phone number, birth date, relationship status, and sexual orientation. You can make your profile visible to the global community of Facebook, exclusively your Facebook contacts, exclusively a specific portion of your Facebook contacts, or only you.

Source: Giphy

The privacy checkup gives you three levels of basic privacy control. Most Facebook users are well acquainted with these levels of privacy control because it is included in the tutorial Facebook offers when users first sign up with the website. There are however more advanced privacy control options that are not included in the introductory tutorial that Facebook offers.

Source: Giphy

The more advanced privacy control options can be accessed by clicking the arrow down icon located to the right of the ? icon. After the arrow down icon has been clicked on, select the Settings option. Once you have reached the settings tab there are two options that offer additional privacy control. To access the first option, select Privacy on the toolbar to the left of the website page. This will take you to a page that offers a more advanced level of privacy control. On this page, you can edit the people who have access to view your contact list. You can choose to make your contact list visible to the global Facebook community, exclusively your Facebook contacts, exclusively a portion of your Facebook contacts, or only you. On this page you can also choose which people can send you a friend request to be added onto your list of contacts. You can set this option to allow anyone on Facebook to send you a friend request, or you can set it so only friends of friends, or in other words contacts that have people in your contacts added, can send you a friend request. This page also allows you to choose whether you want people to be able to search you up using your personal email or personal phone number. Similarly, this page also lets you choose whether you want search engines outside of Facebook to link your profile. These are all the advanced privacy control options available on the privacy tab.

Source: Facebook

Remember that the settings tab has two options that offer additional privacy control (the first of which is the privacy tab). To access the second option, select Timeline and Tagging on the toolbar to the left of the website page. This will take you to a page that also offers a more advanced level of privacy control. On this page, you can edit which contacts are able to post on your timeline and which contacts can see what your other contacts have posted on your timeline, or in other words which contacts can see the photos and videos you are tagged in on your timeline by other your contacts. This page also allows you to review posts you are tagged in before the post appears on your timeline.

Source: Facebook

Certain posts which include pictures, videos, links to interesting content outside of Facebook, should be privatized so that only the right category of people can view them. Facebook’s privacy settings allow you to separate your personal life from your work life.

If you want to keep your Facebook account completely out of reach from someone who is not one of your contacts, the block option is the most appropriate option. To block certain people on Facebook select Blocking on the settings tab page. This page will let you type out the name of the person you want to keep out of reach from viewing your profile or contacting you by blocking them. This page will also let you unblock them if you choose to change your mind.

Source: Facebook

Facebook offers you incredible options in regards to privacy setting control against other members on Facebook. Unfortunately, Facebook doesn’t give you to complete privacy control. By agreeing to the terms of service when signing up with Facebook you have given them permission to keep your personal information. Facebook often acts as a data broker, and sells your personal information to other organisations. Mark Zuckerberg is not to be trusted.