The Ghost Of You

Heartbreak can kill you and keep you alive to feel it

Jason Vu Nguyen
9 min readJan 7, 2022

Eight months ago you disappeared out of my life.

The woman I wanted to marry, have two bright-eyed kids, two dogs (named Katsu and Miso), buy a house in the suburbs of Greater London, travel the world and grow old together with, is gone.

The future we planned and whispered softly to each other under the duvet in the mornings has been placed in a black box waiting to be sealed.

Love Knows No Bounds

We matched on a dating app and I asked her out.

We met at a small Japanese restaurant tucked off Old Street in London.

She wore a pastel blue top and white jeans. She had the kind of smile that radiated happiness, leaving me in awe. She was pretty, humble and moved with elegance.

We went on many dates in quick succession because I was leaving for Vietnam, not knowing when I was coming back. On our third date, I told her I liked her and she wanted me to stay. Scared, I asked her if she thought we could make it through the distance. She said she wasn’t sure and we will see how it goes.

And so our relationship began to blossom despite me leaving. Born on a dating app, intensifying over daily FaceTime calls. We fell…

--

--