Is this a weight loss post or a book announcement? Both?

Jason Donnelly
3 min readJul 1, 2023

--

So there I was, trading in my New York license for a Danish license when the camera snapped and my picture shot up on a digital display. 📸 I didn’t recognize the guy in the photo (you can actually see the picture on www.coldfeat.com). Something in my brain started screaming. I stepped back and noticed a lot of unhappiness, not only physically, but emotionally, and I made the choice to do something about it.

This is the “success post” or at least the “I’m on my way post.” Today, I’m 50 pounds lighter than I was a year ago. FIFTY… Five. Zero. 😮

If you look in the mirror and something doesn’t feel right, listen to yourself. No matter what age you are, you can get back on track.

I now see that I woke up in physical pain, I woke up sad, and I woke up doing anything I could to create space from this new reality (usually something with caramel tbh). I woke up giving excuses as to why I felt the way I felt (you’re getting older, you’re in a country where you don’t know anyone, and my favorite, “that’s just the way it is.”

I lied to myself a lot.

Today, I have a very different daily routine. We don’t have to get into it today, but it will be in my new book 📚 (coming out on August 20th). I won’t pretend that it’s easy, but it is a routine, and most days I enjoy it. I feel happier and lighter (again, both physically and emotionally) than I have in a very long time. I also feel sharper mentally and more present than I’ve felt in years.

This isn’t a post to show off. 💪 Okay, it’s not ALL to show off… some of it is to tell you that you can feel better too. But to get there, you have to get through a lot of days that suck. Some days you’ll want to quit. Others you’ll go to Espresso House and want to order your old “salted caramel islatte med havre mælk og et ekstra skud,” but you won’t, because how you feel right now is worth not ordering a sweet drink. You’ll go row for 20 minutes before work to feel like this. Hell, you may even throw yourself in a chest freezer at 3 degrees Celsius every morning if it makes you feel like this… and I do. 🛀

I feel really lucky that I made the changes when I did. There’s still a lot of work to do, but I know I can do it. I hope this post is the one you read to jumpstart your own change. Who knows, maybe in a few months, you can post something like this on LinkedIn that no one reads to the end… 😂

Reach out if you have questions or follow along on your social channel of choice, here: www.coldfeat.com ❄ 👣

--

--