CS 373 Fall 2023: James Stewart

James Stewart
2 min readOct 1, 2023

--

  • What did you do this past week?

My group and I finished the first phase of the project. This consisted of many diverse components, including setting up AWS, building the webpages, and finding and organizing data. I spent time gathering data and ensuring that the data examples we used could be linked together. After that, the data was linked to the website. I had to learn how to use react and css and I had to brush up on TypeScript. I then linked out pages together and build the site.

  • What’s in your way?

My group and I need to plan out phase 2 of the project. Some of our data might need to be reorganized and I need to learn more about RESTful API.

  • What will you do next week?

Next week, we will meet and begin phase 2 of the project. For this phase of the project, labor will likely be more divides as we split into frontend and backend groups. We will likely start be setting up Docker and gathering more data. We will expand the site to contain more instances and have to do some documentation and unit testing as we go.

  • What did you think of Paper #6. The Open-Closed Principle.

The paper again expanded on concepts that have been taught since the beginning of my computer science education, but in greater detail. For example, the intro computer science classes discourage the use of global variables, but when it was taught I was never sure of why. This paper helped to clarify the reasoning behind these concepts.

  • What did you think of of Python’s reduce and iteration? (This question will vary, week to week.)

I did find it to be one of the more difficult topics in this class, but having multiple projects due this week did reduce the amount of time that I could dedicate to studying, so that could be why.

  • What did you think of of Project #2: IDB1.? (This question will vary, week to week.)

The project went well. We were able to put together a good site and the group worked well together.

  • What made you happy this week?

I got to pick up some new tea.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Spend some time before each phase of the project learning the tools which will be used. It can save time in the long run.

--

--