Tableau Dashboard for Euro 2024

Javier Martinez
4 min readJun 25, 2024

I used a Tableau dashboard to help me play predictor with friends

Photo by NEW DATA SERVICES on Unsplash

If you are a football (soccer) fan, your friends probably invite you to play predictor whenever a big tournament like the World Cup or Euro comes along. The problem is that you may know something about some big teams like France, Spain, and Portugal, but it isn’t easy to stay up to date with every European National team playing the Euro. So, to help me predict my results, I created this dashboard on Tableau.

Disclaimer: I don’t encourage gambling. I’m doing this just for fun.

Data Gathering

The first step is to gather the data for the project. Luckily, I found a great results database in Kaggle with National team match results since 1872. Even though I won’t use all the results this time, I bet it’ll be helpful in the future.

Additionally, I’m going to need a list of the Nations playing in Euro 2024. I got that from the UEFA website, and I also would like to see the FIFA ranking for each national team which I found here. Once I got those two list, I put them on a CSV file to be consistent with the database I got from Kaggle.

Building the Dashboard

Data Source

  • List of Nations in the tournament first because it will…

--

--

Javier Martinez

I’m passionate about technology. I write about software development, data science, business, etc. https://javiernesto.github.io