Ocean Facts (and Possible Things) That Scare Me

When I write
3 min readJul 27, 2022

--

I could’ve just said “everything” to save time, but nah

I’m not the biggest fan of the ocean, outer space, or vast spaces in general. But, there’s a good reason for me being uneasy when I even think about the ocean(s). Here. Laugh at me.

1.The dea — I mean depths

So, the Atlantic Ocean’s average depth according to WorldAtlas.Com is 3,646 meters. That’s over 39 football fields (if they’re all 91 meters)(since when do I measure things by football fields?Curse you math class)(Don’t worry, I googled this because I suck at math).

That’s waaaaay too deep. Especially for the third deepest ocean. I don’t care if nothing was in there, why does it need to be so deep? Not being able to just reach the bottom for fun with nothing but your swimsuit and adrenaline then swim back up seems…not right.

-So many bodi — nevermind. Let’s not go there.

2. Black Holes aka “Oh great, they have em too” s

I thought that if I could avoid going to outer space (I’m fully aware that we are in space right now…but I choose to ignore that, and you know what I mean by “going to outer space”).

Photo of a Black Hole in “the Southern Atlantic Ocean” according to Tech News Link to photo: https://henrilechatnoir.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/oceanic-black-hole-788x443.jpg,

Why do they need to exist in the ocean? They can be as big as cities (LA was one scientists brought up) and they just casually sweep everything around them up inside of them. I dare you to find one and see what happens. I mean…be safe!

3. Uh, Sirens (the “dangerous” mermaids that aren’t mermaids)

& Mermaids (think Mako Mermaids think Bubble Guppies)

I know what you’re gonna say, but here me out

Photo from the show titled Siren, not a real siren captured: https://assets.abcspark.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/28195145/Thumb-siren.jpg

I don’t not believe in them. But, I also don’t believe in them. Honestly, I’m not sure. Different people in different places (of different cultures of course) have stories of them and there are certain things in the world I’ve ruled out as a kid due to cartoons, then decided…hey, they could very well exist. There’s so many other random things in the world. Why not? And regardless, the thought of them don’t really make me feel good. I’ve always known the story of sirens luring you in by song and looks, and I’ve had different questions like:

1. what if you don’t like how they look?

2. What if you’re not some lonely ship captain that hasn’t seen a beautiful person in forever?

3. What if you’re married or crushing on someone else?

4. What if you don’t care for their voices?

5. Or does everyone fall into their spell no matter what?”

We’ve seen movies like The Little Mermaid or The Thirteenth Year with a merman…mer-boy(is that a word) or a show like H20:Just Add Water. And I’ve gotten used to how merpeople/merfolk are supposed to be. Regular half humans half fishes that love humans and can even have human friends/family.And you know what, that’s cool. Even if they didn’t care much for us, that’d be just fine. I don’t mind things existing and not liking us. No real qualms there. My issue is if telling the difference between them-I guess the merfolk would just look basic. Like, the Me’s of the ocean.

(But, like can mermen…or male sirens (do they exist?) also lure you into the ocean?)

I guess, really they aren’t that scary if you know to leave ’em alone or leave their home alone, but every movie I’ve seen with sirens are more like “Hey, I’m just chilling…and now I’m about to die and I haven’t harmed anything,” but I suppose just being where you shouldn’t and fishing is reason enough. Leave things alone, I always say. We bother the possible aliens (sorry yall), but I don’t think we bother the sirens I’ve heard about.

There are too many cultures with their own stories of *insert what they would call the creature in the water that would kill humans and look like this* that makes me wonder ya know?

Anyway, I still believe in caring about our oceans. So, there’s that.

--

--

When I write

They/them Hi, I’m 23 and I have a lot to say! We all do. But, like I’ve decided to write what I want to say here on Medium (plus anywhere else) . Ok cool