Jaya Moolchandani
2 min readFeb 21, 2020
Kandy

Srilanka Itinerary: 5 days and 5 Night

I am no traveller. I am no blogger. I just happened to make a plan with a friend to travel to Srilanka last year, and it kinda worked. So, we were two girls who wanted to go on a budget travel abroad. We chose Srilanka because it was budget + abroad ;).

Lately many people have been asking me for the itinerary we followed for our 5 day trip. So I thought I’ll just put it up here. Here you go!

Total expenditure: 30k INR for 5 days and 5 nights.

Some tips:

  1. Download the app Pick-me for budget cab services.
  2. Have food in Barefoot cafe Colombo: The food and the host both are amazing.
  3. Chill cafe in Ella: Should go.
  4. Don’t miss the train journey from Kandy- Ella. It is super crowded, get the ticket a day in advance if you do not want to stand in the train. It is worth it.
  5. Tourist places are usually safe, but beware a little if you are a female solo traveller and avoid going out after 12 at night.
  6. Carry enough cash and enjoy the hospitality and picturesque views of Srilanka. :)

My travel partner for this journey: Loveliest lady Ahana Chaterjee without whom the travel would not have been possible and the pictures wouldn’t have been so beautiful❤