Jay Goodrich
2 min readOct 24, 2015

--

Ok I am going to put my two-cents in here too. I too got to see the first film when it was released in theatres in 1977. And I am as excited to see this new film as I was back in ’77. Here are my thoughts coming from a professional photography background and looking at the stills in the gallery on starwars.com and analyzing this stuff to ends of the earth as well.

Luke is the bad guy. Maybe? Adam Driver may be the body, but he ain’t the guy if we ever get to see his face. There is a photo of Kylo on the SW website that shows Kylo with storm troopers and the guy isn’t skinny….Driver is a 6'–2" twig…Now Hamill has lost a ton of weight, but he isn’t Driver skinny…Makes me believe that we will get to see the ‘real’ person behind the evil mask at some point and that it is potentially Luke. This goes with the thinking that Abrams shot much of this movie in reality to make less CGI…If we were to find out wouldn’t it make sense that there was a person switch behind the outfit?

Another little tidbit…Hamill was exstatic to rejoin the force this time around. However, he hasn’t been out of acting…he has been the voice in many animated series. So it could really make sense that he becomes the bad guy voice. Again, mere spec’ing here.

The blue lightsaber handoff is Leia (or other woman) giving it to Rey — if you look at the stills the person handing it off has bracelets on and that hand is not one of a man. This I know from photographing tons of people in the last decade. Rey has to be the daughter of someone — Leia and Han or Luke and mysterious person yet to be realized?

And one other thing I noticed…the metal hand touching R2D2…the white shirt looks to have the same pattern as the shirt that Harrison Ford is wearing…again look to the gallery on starwars.com. I cannot explain this, but it begins to make me think that maybe the R2 scene is not from the same point in the film as we are all lead to believe? And that the voice over of Luke is there to again lead us somewhere else.

I know this isn’t giving many answers…but the other thing I want to say is that if JJ Abrams was going to stir this thing up, he wouldn’t turn it on end. I beleive he would turn it in a way that would make the old people (that would be me) get something additional out of the next three films so we now take our 7 year-olds and again invest in the franchise. Luke becoming evil would do that for me ten fold. Although, I am already invested 100% thanks to my son, but this would be icing on the cake.

--

--

Jay Goodrich

Outdoor photos “on the line”. Grab a mountain bike, skis or your own two feet and come on in, the water is just fine. #adventureisthejourney