How did they come up with the name 7UP?

Jay Jaboneta
2 min readAug 26, 2018

--

“Being stubborn is a big part of being a winner. Some people have failed because they have given up too soon. If you are reading this book, that group probably does not include you. My father used to tell us this story about a guy who loved soda, so he went into the soda business, with a product he called 3UP. It failed. So he started again with a soda called 4UP. It failed, too. So he decided to name his product 5UP and worked just as hard to make it work, but sure enough, it failed again. He realized that he still loved soda, so he tried again with a product named 6UP. It failed, and he gave up completely.

Then a few years later, someone else came up with a soda product and named it 7UP, which became a huge success. When I was young, I couldn’t understand why my father kept telling us this story. He told it many times. Later, I realized he was telling us to never give up. Well, I never forgot that story, and I’ve never given up either…”

(This excerpt is taken from the book Why We Want You To Be Rich by Donald Trump and Robert Kiyosaki)

--

--