Black Mourning

Jaylin Leslie
1 min readJan 7, 2023
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Let’s talk about the psychological effects of racism.

This anxiety lingers whenever I discuss race and seek to educate my people. Black people, and African-American people about who they are, where they come from, and their culture.

A heavy weight is placed on me; call it the name of fear. That lingers, lingering over my shoulders, tightening my stomach.

It is the anxiety that lingers over me whenever I am called into a manager’s office at work. It is the weight I carry whenever I seek to express my mind about anything.

See, no, you don’t get it.

It’s the depression from suppression, suppression of my desires, suppression from my lack of self-protection.

It is the fear that only the Lord can override all the pain, blood, sweat, and tears that my ancestors cried.

For all the lives and souls that have died on this land.

--

--

Jaylin Leslie

Truth is the constant, writing is the medium. Top writer in NFL