Video Game Prototype:

Jaymian Bustos
2 min readApr 13, 2023

Game Title: Cosmic Escape
Producer/Programmer: Jaymian Bustos
Artist/Game Designer: Homero Carrillo-Leon

Known Issues:
1. After jumping and landing, the playable character will not transition to run animation and remain playing the idle animation.
2. Background is not large enough for the level of the world.
3. No invisible walls to prevent players from falling off the world.

Instructions (Once all features are added):

Navigate the alien terrain to get to the spaceship.

Shoot and dodge opposing aliens that get in your way.

Use the arrow keys to move and the spacebar to jump.

Press Z to shoot (IN PROGRESS)

Devlog:

At the moment: We have a good implementation of movement and animations (for the most part) after a few weeks of working on the game. It was quite difficult considering that it was my first time programming and using Unity in my entire life but I am quite happy with the results we have so far. After following a couple of tutorials and references to programming the character to move without having infinite jumps or getting stuck/clipped through walls, I started feeling more comfortable knowing what I was trying to do and how to go about it. A really unfortunate event occurred where I had lost the build entirely and was unable to get it properly playtested as I did not push the changes I made into the itch.io yet. This caused me to rebuild everything from scratch and try to demonstrate the game from my POV during Zoom tests. Fortunately, many of the testers understood my circumstances and although the fun of the game couldn't be properly judged, I learned that storing my game on the cloud or having a backup on a hard drive was something I must do from now on. I do want to add more to the game, shooting and low gravity are my main two goals to differentiate the game from just being a standard platformer. I feel like the movement would make the game feel a lot faster and allow the player to have more freedom to explore and invent new ways to navigate through the levels. For now, that is all I have to say and I hope to add more to this game in the upcoming weeks if I decide to continue with this project either by myself or with my partner.

Link to Game:

--

--