How I treat my depression my way

SETH
3 min readJun 13, 2017

The thing about depression is when you feel on what I call the numbness. That feeling of nothing matters,the world doesn’t matter and you don’t matter or nothing matters. It can be a devastating thing on you and your personal life.I’ve been battling depression for long time and for the most part alone with out prescription or therapeutic help. It’s difficult but I make it through and try to find ways to deal with it in some good some not so good ways.

When I was 21 and in college I was drinking to handle the stress. I was no different than any other college student really frat parties, beer pong and acting like a jealous asshole when the girl I like is talking to another dude then punching a stop sign in frustration. So when it comes to my depression it goes hand to hand with my drinking. It was my attempt to make it better which most of the time it never did. Only after a lot of bad experiences with it I decided to teach myself how to deal with my bad thoughts and feelings.

Learning to love myself

I realized half the problems or things I stress about are the aspect of my life I can’t control and me trying to find control. But the most important thing I learned is to not be over critical with myself. Im human and all thing’s human are flawed. From buildings,technology and society politics all things man made are flawed and aren’t perfect.

Expressing myself

Getting negative emotions out is half the battle. Writing to me is more than a hobby but more like medicine. It helps me say whatever I want no matter what I’m thinking or feeling at the time. Music especially has a helped through the toughest times of my life growing up. When your creative I believe it allows you to be more open and accepting things around you positive and negative.

Talking to people

I know this is gonna be a revolutionary idea but talking to people about your problems is very good for you. Whether its your therapist,spouse or just a friend just simply getting something of your chest can feel so relieving unlike anything else. If you don’t relieve the tension in yourself it will just build up the negative feeling until you burst. If there is any advice I could give any one going through depression is that it might be a daily struggle of your life but don’t make it takeover who you are.

--

--

SETH

Just your friendly neighborhood writer, writing whatever I feel like writing about every first Thursday of the month.