The Google Doodle Challenge — break my record under 2 mins

Jay Trivedi
2 min readJun 1, 2017

--

Google has come up with one of the most addictive doodles yet. It’s a minimalist cricket game to mark the opening match of ICC Champions Trophy between England and Bangladesh.

Screenshot of google.in doodle on June 1, 2017

The Game:

The game is very simple. You are Team Mantis and playing against Team Snail and your objective is to maximise your runs. The game play involves you batting by clicking on the yellow bat button pressing the space bar. Sounds easy, right? Well, here is where it becomes interesting.

The speed of the ball keeps varying significantly throughout the game. When I was playing manually, I could score maximum of 47 runs. So, I though of taking matters out of my hands and giving the bat to my computer.

Botbali: The Beginning

My computer runs on Linux. So, I quickly built a bot to bat for me in Linux using handy tools and started the simulations.

In about 10 minutes my bot scored 253 runs!

And the best part is it took me only 10 minutes to build it!!

Man(tis) of the match

The Challenge:

How about you guys go and play the game using whatever tools available to you (including fingers!) and try to score as high as possible. You can post the screenshots of your high scores as comments. I have also “asked” my bot to keep on playing. Let’s see if I can beat my own high score.

I will “open source” my bot tomorrow in case some of you are interested. If you happen to find a better solution and want to share with others, be my guest.

It is around 8.30 pm when I am posting this challenge. So, you have got about three and a half hours to try things out.

Best of luck!

--

--