Freetermined

Justin Bolognino
3 min readApr 20, 2022

--

Anamnesis Track 1

ANAMNESIS

In philosophy, anamnesis (/ˌænæmˈniːsɪs/; Ancient Greek: ἀνάμνησις) is a concept in Plato’s epistemological and psychological theory that he develops in his dialogues Meno and Phaedo and alludes to in his Phaedrus. The idea is that humans possess innate knowledge (perhaps acquired before birth) and that learning consists of rediscovering that knowledge from within.

In 2003–2004, I made my first record with 1 SM57 mic, a small 3 piece drum kit, an acoustic and electric guitar, an Access Virus analog synth, and Ableton 2. The nine tracks each represent the stages of Consciousness, as proposed by Spiral Dynamics and Ken Wilber’s work. Here’s a quick overview story. Each of my next nine posts will be dedicated to telling the story and meaning of each track-stage. Enjoy!

FREETERMINED

Based upon the Spiral Dynamics nine-stages of Consciousness, the first six tracks on Anamnesis are all “fused” opposites, creating a transcendent, meta-linear new word.

Track 1, “Freetermined”, is a combination of “Free” (Will) and “Determined”, a synthesis of the age-old debate between these opposites. From a linear and dualistic perspective, these so-called opposites are at odds with each other, a forced-choice to pick one or the other with a debate that rages to this day. Freetermined is established from the Ever-Present NOW perspective, where past and future cease to exist, and we simultaneous both “free” and “determined”. We are kicking the dualistic ladder out from under us, rather, the goal is to get these dualities to Dance together in real-time. A philosophical poly-rhythm, if you will.

Up until this point in my musical career, I’d never so much as touched computer software. I got Ableton 2 booted on my little white clunky Macbook. Got the soundcard going, found a signal, and was ready to test. I pressed record and did a little beatbox into the microphone. This “first breath” into digital software is the exact beat you first hear on Freetermined, with a little bit distortion on it. This entire song is built on that very first beatbox recording.

My roommate Meredith was watching a documentary on Unions in the living room, so I took my little experiment out there to grab my first sample. I stuck the SM57 up to the TV, and recorded whatever came out, which was “if you’ll all stand up. Everybody stand together, and everybody goes together…” I took this as synchronicity, as it meaningfully fit my little sonic experiment, so I ran with it. Chopped it up a bunch, and let it fly. I was listening to a LOT of Four Tet at the time, and his influence is everyone here and throughout the record.

:15 — this warm synth sound is the Access Virus. I really adore this sound, its richness, warmth, and stereo panning.

:45 — here I’m blatantly trying to sound like Radiohead in “Crushed Like Sardines”, slowly and manually turning the bit distortion nob to release the first “if you’ll all stand up” sample.

1:50 — I accidentally slowed down the song tempo during playback, and this was my first ever “happy accident,” which I consider to be a hallmark of magic in the music-making process. So many of the best moments to come would be happy accidents.

The song ends with the “This was my first lesson” sample, which was the ultimate synchronicity, to say the least. The entire process of this song was simply experimenting with the basics of software-based production, sampling, and analog synthesis. Simultaneously “free” to create whatever I want, yet determined by the laws of music, instruments, software, RAM and ROM capabilities.

Freetermined, indeed!

--

--

Justin Bolognino

Founder + CEO of META® / Synchronicity Architect / Consciousness Farmer @ Silent G Farms / Jazz Student / Dad x 3