My Interview with Screenwriter Andrew Lanham

Jeffrey Bricker
6 min readMar 7, 2019

Andrew Lanham is from Bangor, Maine and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He studied screenwriting at the University of Texas at Austin and in 2010 won the prestigious Nicholl Fellowship for Screenwriting from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. His film writing credits include The Shack (2017), The Glass Castle (2017) and The Kid (2019). He also co-wrote Just Mercy, a film due in theaters early next year.

Andrew Lanham from 2017. Source: IMDB

BHF: You’ve been screenwriting now for just under ten years and already you’ve worked on some impressive projects with your adaptation work on The Shack and The Glass Castle. How did you land these great projects so early in your career?

AL: I’m very fortunate to have won the Nicholl Fellowship. The Nicholl Fellowship is a beyond amazing way for a screenwriter to get their career started in Hollywood. That got me great representation who have always supported me and not made me feel pressure and rushed. I won the Nicholl at the same time as writer/director Destin Cretton (The Life of Pi) who is a close friend. We already had a creative friendship when he

--

--

Jeffrey Bricker

Indie author, journalist and film enthusiast. Follow me on Twitter and read more of my work at www.framerated.co.uk (contributor)