Can We Talk About Fruit Salad?

Jen Sako
2 min readJul 4, 2018

I was asked to bring a fruit salad for the Independence Day BBQ tonight and as I was supervising my husband making it, I was taken back two, or maybe several, decades to my childhood.

We used to have a family reunion every year on my mother’s side, until just about everyone passed on to their great rewards and the remainder of the cousins decided they didn’t have enough in common to sit in lawn chairs together under the shade tree outside the Flapjack, Texas Community Center and Hall once a year. My father’s side is the same. But both my mom and dad are what can be called, “party babies.” You know, a nice night out, a couple of cocktails, a nightcap before bed. Then, whoopsie. Party baby! They were in kindergarten when their brothers were fighting in Korea and their sisters were in teacher’s college.

So, back to the fruit salad. I bought all the fruit, so D was a-rinsing and a-chopping and basically in charge of assembling. He loves prepping food (yay!). It’s a zen thing with him. It’s a beautiful salad. Here’s what’s in it:

Watermelon

Strawberries

Blackberries

Blueberries

Raspberries

Cherries

A squoze of lime

Back in my day, we didn’t have fresh fruit! No, of course, we did. But it didn’t go in a salad. Especially a “fruit” salad. All of our fruit was eaten separately. Watermelon, off the rind, outside. Sometimes with salt. All…

--

--

Jen Sako

Author of serial romance. Regular contributor. Praise monkey.