Separated EFI Boot Partitions located on different SSDs in Gigabyte AERO 15-X9

Jeffrey Chou
2 min readJun 19, 2020

--

On my AERO 15-X9, default only one 512GB SSD(Intel).

I add another 1GB SSD(Crucial P1 1TB 3D NAND NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD), and install ubuntu 18.04 on it.

During installation, the target location of grub I choose is Crucial P1, but it’s not work.

Boot Option #2 is ubuntu, but still on Intel SSD, not on Crucial P1.

Till now, I can boot into Windows 10 or Ubuntu without any problem.

But I have a question, if I remove the Intel SSD, ubuntu can’t be run individually.

Refer to this article (i have two HDD, each has EFI partition. How do I force ubuntu to install /boot/efi on /dev/sdb2 instead of /dev/sda1), I found another method to solve this problem,

  1. Disable all Boot Option(#1 & #2) in BIOS.
  2. Power off & Power on, and press F12, boot from Ubuntu 18.04 Live USB.
  3. Create efi system partition on Curcial P1, and choose Curcial P1 as device for boot loader installation
  4. After Installation, enter BIOS and enable the Boot Option.
  5. Refer to this article (Uninstall GRUB and use Windows bootloader), remove the previous ubuntu entry in Windows Boot Manager.
    (After this step, there still has the “ubuntu(INTEL …)” item in BIOS Boot Option)
  6. Refer to How to delete OS from boot menu, remove the unused ubuntu entry. (efibootmgr -b # -B)

--

--