I started wearing a watch (again). Here’s what I ended up with.

Jacob Gross
2 min readJan 4, 2024
Image credit: Djim Loic

Because when watch seller Tiktok videos hit your FYP, you’re hooked, right?

I really don’t know how I ended up on watch Tiktok. I also don’t know how I’ve become so invested in how the watch world works.

I’ve never really been a watch wearer. I had an old model of the Apple Watch a few years ago, but parted ways with that as I wasn’t super pleased with it (even as the Apple ecosystem loyalist that I am). But I’ve become open again to the whole watch-wearing game. I’m definitely eager to make something work. (it’s those tiktok videos, I’m telling you!)

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been going down the internet rabbit hole researching Garmin watches. I’ve watched probably every Youtube review of the Fenix and Venu models.

There’s something about the Garmin watch that just looks good. Tied with its relatively simple user interface, I was intrigued.

After some time, I pulled the trigger and ended up with Fenix 7s pro, black edition. Luckily, I found something a bit cheaper than what you see on the Garmin website. BestBuy had some good deals going at the time.

I’ve had it for a little while now, and I must say, I’m impressed. I have a small wrist so I was worried the watch would be too bulky or overpowering, but it isn’t. I have the 42mm model. I also went with the sports wristband (got it for cheap off Amazon), which is velcro and it’s great. Easy on and off.

Let’s see where this watch adventure takes me. Who knows. (It better take me somewhere, because it certainly wasn’t that cheap!)

As for the Tiktok videos, some of my favorites come from Kerri Lavine. I love her energy. ⌚️

--

--

Jacob Gross

community, productivity, career, lists, tech, good fonts. opinions are my own.