John Chappell
2 min readMay 25, 2019

--

I am a research scientist, and I have begun using Thortspace to map the activities, projects, and concepts within my laboratory. I think it has the potential to be a very powerful tool for researchers, but I was wondering about some functionality that may exist (and I need help finding) or may not exist and could be incorporated.

  1. Is it possible to select a Thort, and at the bottom of the screen list all the connections via Paths (to both groups, thorts, and thorts within groups)? Then one could see all associated Paths, select a connected thort/group, and “follow the path” of connected thorts. It would help me see, for example, a person in my lab and what projects, grants, and publications they’re connected to and essentially “walk through” their contributions to the lab.
  2. I know it’s possible to Rank or Prioritize thorts within a group (love that feature!). Is it possible to have thorts arrange themselves within that group according to their order (top-to-bottom perhaps)? That way in “Think” mode, the user could still visualize that prioritization. I know the spherical nature of the graphics may not be conducive to that, but thort I’d ask.
  3. Is it possible to select multiple Groups or multiple free-standing thorts and move them together? Along those lines, I saw another user also suggested being able to “group Groups” — I think that would be an incredibly useful function and could help set up domains that contain groups and then associated thorts within each group.

Thanks so much for making such a brilliant App! Again, I think the scientific research community could really use this tool to organize their work into concepts and thorts, and then connect those thorts to the practical aspects of research (personnel, grants, publications, etc.). I’m certainly sharing my experience with my colleagues!

--

--