My Continuing Search for the Right E-Bike

After Falling, It’s Time I Picked Myself Up!

Jeffrey Clos
3 min readNov 17, 2021

--

Someone traversing a road on an electric bike.
Photo by Gotrax on Unsplash

I have written two articles on a Crowdsourcing Project and progress, or lack thereof, towards the end goal of receiving my ideal e-bike.

Here we are in November after a year and a half of empty promises and no Rocket Bike. Given they have pushed the date out again, it looks like Spring of 2022 will be a lost cause, and I will need to find an alternative. In the best-case scenario, the project will be completed sometime in 2022, and I will still receive a bike. In the worst-case scenario, Rocket Bike goes under, and I will still only have one e-bike. At this point, I optimistically envision having two bikes, one for myself and one for my wife, sometime in 2022.

I will now be proceeding ahead on my quest to find the next best bike. If I play my cards right, I may find something better. My list will include most of what “Rocket” has marketed. I will be looking for something portable. I understand all bikes are mobile, but e-bikes are very cumbersome. These bikes can weigh quite a bit due to the battery and the added motor. I will need a bike to support my large frame (At over 6 feet), which will add to the sizing. My biggest concern is it needs to fit in the back of my SUV. The “Rocket” bike was perfect as it folded down to make the size manageable.

--

--

Jeffrey Clos

I am a lifetime inhabitant of Michigan, and compelled to share my various experiences. I have a lust for new technology and other improvements to ones life!