J. Corner
2 min readOct 4, 2021

About Ergophobia

After long time away from work, when the government are losening restrictions, it means that everybody have to go back to work as normal, not except me. Although I wanna have a job, I am disturbed on not or not to go seek for a job. Many symptoms reappear after years of mental problems which I’d tried to escape from. Now I know people use a term to call these fear: Ergophobia or “work aversion”. Thus, I start to find out the causes and solutions for my thoughts in which I hope can help myself to overcome my trouble.

Dealing with a phobia at work is tricky to say the least. Nevertheless, did you know that a certain amount of fear is good for us? The sense of fight or flight that kicks in when something scares us is a reflex to keep us safe. For example, imagine how you might feel walking along a path at the edge of a steep precipice. Our fear of falling will keep us away from the edge. If we keep walking, we will become more relaxed with our surroundings, and we feel good once more. Once we acclimatise, the fear becomes exhilaration, and we begin to enjoy the experience thoroughly.

After thinking for days, months or maybe years, my tricks is we can not put off dealing with the fear at work forever, so you should make effort to kill your fear. I asked myself such questions like:

  1. What am I scare of?
  2. What experience first made me feel this way?
  3. How is not dealing with my fear negatively affecting my life?
  4. What will I gained by overcoming my fear?
  5. Who can I asked for help in overcoming my fear?

When you figure out these questions, it may help you to get over the fears.

We spend two — thirds of our waking lives at work so we owe it to ourselves to make the best of it while we’re there. While overcoming fear at work may seem like the biggest obstacle to overcome, making an effort to is the key to building confidence and achieving success.

J. Corner
0 Followers

There isn't a lot of space for words like "us" and "we", there's only space for "I" and "me". Survival mode - W.M