Secret Hitler and the Antifragility of Writing.

Jason Stauffer
8 min readJul 4, 2018

I recently wrote an article about my emotional experience playing a party game called Secret Hitler. My emotional experience, which as any intelligent person knows is not truth but in fact opinion, was the game is designed to send a political message about contemporary politics by implicitly drawing analogies between the rise of Hitler and Nazi Fascism in 1930’s Germany and the rise of Donald Trump and whatever the fuck his movement will eventually be called in the history books once it’s over with…

Magazi’s I suppose would be a good word. (You heard it here first, folks.)

As a person who chose to vote for neither Hillary Clinton nor Donald Trump because I found nothing of substance in either of them (I also live in Arizona and understood I wasn’t one of the 80,000 people in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Michigan who got to pick the President in 2016), I felt my friends were possibly trying to send me on a guilt trip for not toeing the line and voting the lesser of two evils with them like they argued for leading up to the election.

Again, this is emotional opinion, not gospel truth. I was writing about how I felt at the time, informed by the information I had at the moment.

But that’s not the point of this article. That’s the point of the other article.

The point of this article is that congruent to my experience with Secret Hitler my business partner, Thomas P Seager, PhD, and I were also in conversations around social media…

--

--

Jason Stauffer

Combat Veteran. Antifragile Researcher. Entrepreneur. Writer. Director of Research and Development for Morozko Forge. @MorozkoForge @Jcstauff