Journey to 100!

JD Bailey
4 min readAug 14, 2017

--

In the past month or so, I’ve had my car repossessed, I’ve been robbed, arrested, in a car accident, and all around tested mentally, physically, spiritually and financially. But I’m still down 75 lbs and I feel like I’m fighting for every pound on this Journey to 100.

The law of attraction is real and sometimes the most cliche quotes are the most relatable. For me, the quote I have been thinking of is “When it rains it pours”. Due to a banking error and false receipt of funds, I had my car repossed by Uber, which led to string of unfortunate events. My bill went from $400 to $2,000 within 2 weeks, even after settling my debt, I was out of work for 4 days waiting to retrieve my car, all to find out that $400 cash was stolen from the trunk. During the weekend, I also spent a couple hundred dollars on Uber and Lyft rides just to get around and handle business, but the whole situation set me back and threw off my schedule.

Just when I thought the worst of it was over, I run into the police late one night and at first everything seems normal. They ask questions and get my info until all of a sudden the whole mood changes. The cop opens my door, tells me to put my hands behind my back, handcuffs me and I was left to wonder what was happening for over an hour in the back of a patrol vehicle. As I’m waiting in the back, I see that all of a sudden there are 4 patrol cars surrounding the area and over 8 cops discussing things outside of my car. Almost 2 hours later, I come to find out that my car was still reported stolen and they suspected me to be guilty.

(Side Note: I put a stolen vehicle report out when my car was reposessed and it was never closed even after visiting the police station 3 times to follow up, and put in a theft report on the money that was taken from the lot.)

Shortly after getting my car back, within 2 weeks, I end up in an accident in Northridge late one night and hurt my back. So for now I’m out of working Uber again, visiting the chiropractor 3x a week, and sticking to cardio to get this 100lbs off by October.

I’ve still been able to run on the elliptical, stairmaster and hike, but the biggest update I wanted to share with you all is in the story of a new friend, Gerard, who lost 100 lbs in only 4 months!

He started his journey at 365 lbs, and knew something needed to change due to his family history of heart attacks, diabetes, high blood pressure, and more. He was also diagnosed with sleep apnia at the age of 30 which would wake him up almost hourly, and left him in state of continuous fatigue. This led to 2 car accidents, where he fell asleep at the wheel and his family was concerned with the safety of his daughter while he was driving her from that point on. He saw similar health issues plaugue his father after he had a serious heart attack, and was ordered to wear a pacemaker. But something had to change, and he connected with his friend, James, who he knew in high school to help him out.

His solution was a meal plan called “Yoli” which is a drawn out nutrition plan with steps to lead a healthier lifestyle. Each kit lasts 28 days, where you’re able to eat a diverse diet and the results are self evident in the example of Gerard, as he lost over 30 lbs in his first month, without excersicing or going to the gym.

The program worked so well that he was even able to start getting better sleep, and eventually an actual full night of rest. Currently he is down over 120 lbs and plans to lose over 150 lbs by the end of the year! His health has completely improved, he is able to sleep and most importantly he can safely drive his daughter around again without paranoia from the family. If you are interested in hearing more about Yoli and how it works, feel free to leave a comment and I could refer you to the business to get more information.

I love hearing the feedback and how others are on similar journeys to get healthier. We all gotta encourage each other because it is definitely a difficult thing to pursue, but I’m excited to start sharing stories of friends who have successfully done this, so feel free to contact me if you want to share a story or give advice to be included in the next articles. Send email to openkanvas@gmail.com with header “Journey to 100”

Gym Gems:

  1. Mick Jenkins (prod. Kaytranada) — Aurora Borealis
  2. Jarreau Vandal- Someone That You Love
  3. Foisey- Fresh Fruits (Chill Mix)
  4. Mark Steele- Good Time (produced by David D’Angelo)
  5. Joyner Lucas- Winter Blues
  6. Kanye West- All Falls Down ft. Lauryn Hill (Original)
  7. Joyner Lucas- Keep it 100

--

--