I did a game with Excel

Jesús
3 min readApr 1, 2023

Excel is a very powerful tool that can be used for almost anything. Although it is usually used to store and analyze data, with a little creativity you can make an excel template do more than just store and analyze data.

As I am a person who likes to learn new languages, it occurred to me that I could use excel to practice new sentences. So based on some applications I decided to create a kind of game that would allow me to review different expressions of a language.

Although the template was originally made to learn languages, it can be used to learn anything, anything from math equations to historical facts.

In this story I will explain how I made this template.

You can also download the template completely for free from the following link

Template structure

The structure is very basic. There will be two tabs: one that contains a table with the sentences that I want to learn, and another tab from which you can play.

The table will contain the following fields:

  • ID: To identify each sentence.
  • Sentence: To write the sentences I want to learn.
  • Translation: Where I store all the answers.
  • Count: To know the iterations of the game.

--

--

Jesús

I am an engineer and I love doing different projects in different programming languages, being Python and Excel the languages I use the most