Introduction to J. D. Huffman

J. D. Huffman
1 min readOct 12, 2021

--

My name is J. D. Huffman, and I am an undergraduate student at Gaston College in Dallas, North Carolina. I am also a Student Member of both the National Weather Association and the American Meteorological Society, along with being a trained/certified Advanced SKYWARN Weather Spotter with the National Weather Service in Greenville-Spartanburg Weather Forecast Office (Greer, SC).

I also have a diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), and If it weren’t for this, I would not be the person I am today. I have been interested in meteorology and atmospheric science for over a decade now, and I was personally affected by the Sanford-Raleigh EF-3 tornado in April 2011, when a tornado hit my late mother’s hometown of Sanford, North Carolina. From that day forward, I was hooked.

My eventual goal for education is to earn my Associate Degree in General Science, then transfer to a 4-year university to major in Atmospheric Science and minor in Geological Science.

--

--

J. D. Huffman

Undergraduate Meteorology Student at Gaston College. Person with Autism. Storm Chaser. SKYWARN Weather Spotter. Amateur Radio Operator (KO4TJP).