Broken Records

AuthenticSelf
1 min readOct 9, 2022

Growing up in the toxic dysfunction I was so gratefully adopted into, the woman said incessantly to the man "I sound like a broken record." The irony is that we heard this statement repeated in the background of our lives so often, that the redundancy of her very assertions is what made her right. She did sound like a broken record. As far as I’m concerned, a broken one hit wonder record album called, "I Sound Like A Broken Record." I don’t know about him, but once that song started playing, I stopped listening. I don’t actually listen to broken records. Do you?

If that sounded bitter, it was. I guess that’s where it went, though it wasn’t my intention or why I began writing. In fact, I had a very different direction in my heart, but here we are. And this is where we’ll be. I suppose I’m not there yet, using that woman as a starting point to go anywhere intentional.

--

--