PLEASE STOP DIVIDING US!

Otherwise… Donny, you’re fired

Jean Rousseau
2 min readMar 17, 2020
an American flag upside down means a sign of distress or great danger

Mr. President of the divided States,

Donald Trump takes the Oath of Office

On Jan 20, 2017, you swore an oath when becoming the 45th President of the United States:

“I DJT do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States. So help me God.”

I am a proud citizen of the United States.
The United States.
United.

united | yo͞oˈnīdəd |
adjective
joined together politically, for a common purpose, or by common feelings: women acting together in a united way.

Everyday we, Americans, are united by the Pledge of Allegiance:

“I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”

…one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

I am not interested in your politics right now, only your character matters, as do your words and your actions.

Mr. President, you have a very hard job, especially right now with this Covid-19 pandemic, but you spent months telling us you were the best man for the job and, now that you have it, everyone else is at fault but you for the shitstorm we find ourselves in.

‘I don’t take responsibility at all’ Trump says on lag in COVID-19 testing

Sir, my 75 year-old parents are in harm’s way.
Sir, I am looking for work and my livelihood is in harm’s way.
Sir, there are thousands of brave Americans working in our healthcare system whom are in harm’s way.
Sir, America is in harm’s way and we are united, now more than ever.

Please stop dividing us, now more than ever.

I am a human being. I am a social animal. I am wired to want to be in the company of my family and my friends.

Communication leads to community — that is, to understanding, intimacy, and the mutual valuing that was previously lacking
- Rollo May

This virus wants to break what unites us.
We will not let it.
You, sir, want to break what unites us.
We will not let you.

One Planet, One People, One World

Do your job Mr. President.

Show some humility.
Show some compassion.
Show some leadership.

Otherwise…

We the people of the United States

--

--