Why did we start TownSquare?

Jeff Han
3 min readMar 11, 2019

--

A few days ago I asked a friend how he would address the increasing polarization and tribalism within our society.

He responded, “I wouldn’t. I would start another company, make a lot of money, then donate to people trying to tackle the issue.”

There is definitely a part of me that considered his approach…

TownSquare’s mission is to help us understand views different from our own. In a sense, we started TownSquare to help people empathize with one another and to demystify why people believe what they do.

I wish there was a simple and clever way to do that, but we couldn't find one… The only way we could find was to write and build new algorithms and interview A LOT of people. It was hard like a math problem, but also hard like running a marathon.

But… if I’m honest… the excitement of a complex and difficult issue that could defend its integrity financially, provide a means for people to be truly known and truly heard, is actually what drew me to starting TownSquare.

I could ramble into a long spiel about my childhood now, but maybe one story is enough:

When I was growing up I wasn't very good at speaking Korean nor was I very good at understanding the cultures of my multi-cultural friends. In 2008 when the financial crisis hit my family it hit us hard. And I saw first hand what happened when the risk of losing it all was apparent every day. Whenever there would be a fight in our house I would always wish that there would be a pause for clarity. I wished someone would try to clarify what the other person meant. But that never happened. When I tried to explain what was happening with my friends, I just didn't have the tools to communicate what was happening in our house.

That kind of inability was crushing. And it was only through the patience and understanding of someone else that gave me confidence in my own voice.

There was a story recently on TownSquare about Identity Politics. I got to watch this story with two friends who both view identity politics as something inherently negative in society. After watching a video that agreed with their perspective, they watched a video that challenged their perspective.

One of my friends responded,

“I like that video more.”

“Why is that?” I asked.

“Because those are children describing their experiences, and well, I’m a mom.”

I guess there are a few times in life where moments of the past crystalize in the present. Where you see your past self, and can say to them, “I’m doing exactly what you needed.” I guess this was one of those moments.

We started TownSquare to humanize the internet. To provide that understanding and patience for everyone.

To be clear we don’t do this because we think this is an easy road but because it is an important one. And it is simply too important not to try.

-Jeff

--

--