analog

Artist Ramblings

Jeff Frame
2 min readSep 30, 2018

--

I don’t believe that I can experience the art of others, and I don’t believe that others can experience my art.

I think this is because the accuracy of the replica (or “art object”) cannot be proven in regard to the original thought. In other words, you can’t trust me to not bullshit you, and I can’t trust you to not bullshit me. This is important because I want to see the real shit, the shit you saw in your head, not some by-product of your thought that has been watered down with compromises and concessions to the limitations and impossibilities (read physical realities) of whatever medium you are working in. Let’s do away with this “happy accident” business too.

Now, there will come a day when technology will allow us to verify the accuracy of each other’s art (to the original thought). It’s going to be some sort of projector that you plug your brain into. We will also have something that we can plug into the “brain projector” that will allow us to “print” exact replicas of a thought, a “brain printer” as it were. This is going to be dope, but it’s going to suck too because it will also be the day that art loses a lot of relevance. This shit is just going to descend into a one-up type of situation to see who can do the most psychedelics and print the gnarliest shit. Don’t get me wrong, I’m down, but it’s still kind of a bummer.

So, if the brain projector/ printer combo is, for all intents and purposes, “digital”, then I endeavor to explore the “analog”, striving to get as close to the “digital” as possible.

“work”

So, what about current work. Right now, I’m attempting to construct the impossible life. It’s quite a trip. I think I’ve got most of it down, I’m just fine tuning it now.

--

--