5 Predictions For The (Not-So-Distant) Future of Humanity

Where society is headed from relationships to finances and beyond

Jeff Hayward

--

Photo by petr sidorov on Unsplash

I’d like to start this one by saying I am not a professional researcher, scientist, data analyst, anthropologist, or a physic for that matter. I’m just a regular middle-aged dude that has seen some stuff, and might have some educated guesses as to where we may be headed.

Admittedly, some of these “predictions” have been discussed as possibilities already. But I wanted to dig a little further into them and give my own perspective on why I think they will come to fruition.

Without further adieu, here are five things I see happening in the next two or three decades (or sooner) for humanity.

1. Marriage Rates Will Sharply Decline

As marriage is essentially tied to the church, I see it falling off dramatically in the next 10 years or so — at least in the West. Apparently the marriage rate hit an all-time low in the U.S. in 2018, dropping to 6.5 marriages per 1,000 people compared to 12 per 1,000 in 1929.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the last two years have lowered this record even more, as I’m sure many people have put off tying the knot during the ongoing pandemic. But even without a pandemic…

--

--

Jeff Hayward

Ex-reporter. AI critic. Nostalgia lover. Canadian. Follow my publications Ai-Ai-OH and CanadEH.