Why ‘Lost in Translation’ Is My Favourite Movie Ever

Some people call it an age-gap romance. They’re wrong.

Jeff Hayward
6 min readAug 3, 2022

--

Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash/not from the movie, but it is the Tokyo skyline.

It has a 7.7 rating on IMDb — and an even more flattering score on Rotten Tomatoes. It has won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe and an Oscar.

Yet anytime someone asks me what my favourite movie is, and I respond with Lost in Translation, the great 2003 film from Sofia Coppola starring Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, they just look at me sideways.

“Really?” they ask.

“Yes,” I answer, and depending on how many beers I’ve had, I might continue to explain why. (I can assure you, my written analysis is much more tolerable than my verbal one.)

Basically, here’s what I think what people think about this movie, thus writing it off:

A middle-aged white dude spends his entire business trip in Japan flirting with a much younger married woman. So typical.

Despite being called a “couple,” they are not. What they have isn’t a romance, despite the movie often being placed in that category. The way the movie is beautifully shot and produced definitely evokes feelings of romance, but the two main characters are not pining for each other in the classic romance scenario.

--

--

Jeff Hayward

Ex-reporter. AI critic. Nostalgia lover. Follow my publications Ai-Ai-OH and CanadEH.