Why I am Starting a Medium: A Forward

Jeff Ponchick
2 min readApr 9, 2017

--

My name is Jeff Ponchick and I started a company called Repost of which I am still deeply involved in. My choice to begin on Medium is an exercise in reflection of the last two years. A reflection on a company I started from my living room, raised some seed capital for, then grew into a multi-million dollar a year business in a space that many VC’s refuse to touch due to such a high failure rate. Music. I’ve even received a little notoriety for my work. I bring these points up not to brag, but to simply create a gauge for the reader to understand where these thoughts come from. I haven’t navigated an IPO or sold a company. I am simply a business owner who is deep in the throws of his second start up. The first one failed. Yes, we have seen some success, a lot of failure, and have far more to build.

I’m here to catalogue and share the lessons I’ve learned. The ones I wish someone had told me when I was just starting. My hope is that by being 100% transparent about my journey it might help someone else starting out or in a similar position.

I look forward to putting these thoughts out in the world and if you want to connect please comment! Also I’m here to pay it forward so do reach out!

I should also thank my technical co-founder Joey Mason who has pushed me to start this. You can read about him and his technical writing here.

--

--