How Shame Can Change the Course of Your Life

Jeff Barton
8 min readOct 8, 2018
“grayscale photo of person's back” by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

We live in a world where most people still subscribe to the belief that shame is a good tool for keeping people in line. Not only is this wrong, but it’s dangerous.

– Brené Brown

In 1991, I was in my sophomore year of college. Even though it was close to 30 years ago, I recall one moment of shame like it was yesterday.

The previous year as a freshman, I didn’t know what I wanted to pursue in terms of a major and was still trying to figure everything out. I had picked a major and a minor to put me on a path but was not 100% sure that is what I wanted to do. I think this is the dilemma of many college students.

Unless you are going to a trade school or something other than college, you have to take required classes such as English, Math, and physical and social sciences. But it was my freshman English class which made me think I had chosen the wrong major (Criminal Justice) when I enrolled.

I thought this because of my professor. She was one of the best professors I’ve ever had. Her teaching style, friendliness, willingness to help students, and the overall comfort of her class was something you don’t see every day in a college atmosphere. I enjoyed it…

--

--

Jeff Barton

Dad, trail/ultra runner, orophile & aspiring recluse. I write about life, mental health, and running. Starting life over. Creator of Runner’s Life.