Tips For New Writers Who Are Struggling

From A New Writer Who Has Struggled

Jeff Barton

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

First, I’m no writing expert. And I would consider myself a new writer. So take away what works for you and ignore the rest. Or ignore all of it. Or take it all. Or don’t. I’m not the boss of you.

Anyway, sometimes I have struggled to get words onto the screen. This is normal for many. It is still normal for me.

But I’ve adopted a few tricks to help me write. These tips have helped me publish 29 stories on Medium since the end of January and 8 posts on my personal blog.

While I’m not blowing up the writing world with my prose, I am very satisfied with what I’ve been able to accomplish over the past two months.

We all know we should edit and read over our work. But these are some not so common tips which have helped me be a better and more productive writer.

And I hope they can help you.

Start with your story

--

--

Jeff Barton

Dad, trail/ultra runner, orophile & aspiring recluse. I write about life, mental health, and running. Starting life over. Creator of Runner’s Life.